Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Strange window behavior

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2014 | 03:59 PM
Number54
Racer

Default Strange window behavior

I am having an issue with strange window behavior on my 6GT3.

I have opened the door and heard a bunch of ticking, then the window rolls down maybe 2 inches (slowly) instead of just the quick normal little bit to clear the rubber.

Also I have opened the door, closed it, and it didn't roll up at all.

Today I got a "Indicator failure" warning on the dash with what looked like a battery symbol.

Does anyone know what's going on? Could it be a bad battery? Or something worse?
Old 06-04-2014 | 08:04 PM
4porsh
Three Wheelin'

I'm not a mechanic but My voltage regulator started to go bad. Fuses started to pop/go bad then battery drained and windows acted strange.
Once I replaced voltage regulator, new fuse, and charged battery I just held the window buttons down for a few seconds then up/down and they went back to normal.
Good luck.
Old 06-04-2014 | 10:23 PM
4porsh
Three Wheelin'

did a quick search and found a guy that posted this.

"1. If Door glass does not drop when opening door from inside: Inner door handle microswitch. This switch can be seen without removing anything. It is right behind inner door handle, should hear clicking.
2. Door glass does not drop when opening door from the outside: Outer door hand microswitch. This switch can be seen when you remove the door panel and pull away the foam liner.
3. Door glass goes back up when you release either handle: Dock Lock Latch microswitch. Cannot be seen unless latch is removed along with clip.
4. The window does not drop when opening from inside or outside handle: Door Lock Latch microswitch."
Old 06-05-2014 | 08:09 AM
Number54
Racer