Notices
996 GT2/GT3 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Opinions on painting wheels or powder coat wheels (please)?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2013, 12:20 PM
BuckeyeDrew
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinions on painting wheels or powder coat wheels (please)?

I am going to paint or powder coat my wheels and would like some feedback with pros or cons with either process.

From what I researched powder coating is less costly and will last longer however the baking process can impact the integrity of the wheels? Anybody have any insight on this?

Painting is more costly and could chip off easier but you skip the process of baking.

Thanks
Old 01-10-2013, 12:43 PM
4porsh
Three Wheelin'

Received 42 Likes on 27 Posts

I'm not an expert but will give my 2c on my real life experience. On my other car I had Semi Solid Forged wheels that were light and strong. Decided to have them powder coated and had the spokes completely crack on track three different times. One time three spokes completely fail on track over one hundred mph in a turn, thought the wheel had come off, lucky I did not go off track. Another time felt shimmy on track at high speed, took a little bit to find one of the spokes had a crack that made the wheel slightly out of round.
Now I know it depends on what the rim is made of and how pro is the company doing the powder coating, but after my experience I just have rims painted.
Paint also gives you more choices of finish/ better matching colors to your preference.
That's my take.

joe
Old 01-10-2013, 12:54 PM
cfjan
Rennlist Member

Received 33 Likes on 9 Posts