Sponsored by:

997 GT3 Club Sport

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2006, 09:23 AM
healeyg
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 997 GT3 Club Sport

So, if there is going to be a GT3 and a GT3RS in the US (and they can figure out how to do a bolt in roll cage), will there be a Club Sport option, like in Europe with Roll bar, race seats, and fire X?

Do they get around crash test issues via dealer installation with a liability waver?

Has any car been certified by DOT with a roll bar / cage to anyone's knowledge? (360CS for example - does it have a roll bar?)
Old 01-28-2006, 10:36 AM
tlark
Drifting

The 360CS does not have a roll bar.

If this info is true, as long as the car mets US regs., roll bar, seats (etc.) are not an issue. The weight will be greater due to higher US saftey standards, the question is will they build it with the additional costs associated with design differences.
Old 01-28-2006, 10:53 AM
healeyg
Instructor

i'm no expert, but i think the roll bar/cage is a DOT regulatory issue. ie, when not wearing a helmet, you can hit your head against a bar in the interior in a street crash.

i thought that was always the issue with certification of a roll bar / cage? which is why we haven't had the CS option in the past
Old 01-28-2006, 11:58 AM
tlark
Drifting

Originally Posted by healeyg
i'm no expert, but i think the roll bar/cage is a DOT regulatory issue. ie, when not wearing a helmet, you can hit your head against a bar in the interior in a street crash.

i thought that was always the issue with certification of a roll bar / cage? which is why we haven't had the CS option in the past

You could be right on the roll bar and suspect you are now that I think about it.