Sponsored by:

Coolant leak!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2004 | 04:46 PM
Mr. C4
Drifting

Default Coolant leak!!!

Guys,

Just arrived home from a 30 min. drive and noticed that the car was leaking coolant. It was dripping out from where the driveshaft exits on the left side if the gearbox/engine. Any idea what it could be and how serious it is? Itīs almost midnight here and this means a sleepless night untill I can call the workshop first thing tomorrow morning.

Ciao,

Johannes E.

Last edited by Mr. C4; 06-30-2004 at 02:54 AM.
Old 06-29-2004 | 05:00 PM
MetalSolid
Addict
Rennlist Member

I'm no expert, but could it be a ruptured hose or tank squirting coolant onto that part of the engine/gearbox...?
Old 06-29-2004 | 05:08 PM
Sloth
Addict
Rennlist Member

I had a coolant leak in my car. Apparantly the "coolant control valve" going to the engine was the source of the coolant leak. I am told that it controls the rate of the coolant entering the engine... sort of like a thermostat. Be sure to let us know what you find out.
Old 06-29-2004 | 05:16 PM
Mr. C4
Drifting

Sloth,

Was your car leaking from around the same are as I described?

Ciao,

Johannes E.
Old 06-29-2004 | 05:28 PM
Sloth
Addict
Rennlist Member

I believe so, though I am not 100% sure.
Old 06-29-2004 | 05:45 PM
4carl
Race Car

Check the clamp where the alum cooling line joins the rubber hose. Theres one on each side, the spring clamps don't hold that well. Porsche used to use only screw clamps on water lines I'm sure they saved $0.10 on each one with the spring clamps and less labor!!I had to add a screw clamp to the right side of mine because the hose would keep pulling away. You have to get under the car to acess them. hope this helps carl
Old 06-29-2004 | 05:56 PM
Mongo
Official Bay Area Patriot
Fuse 24 Assassin
Rennlist Member