996 NA Exhaust design

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2015, 10:17 AM
AK from RSA
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 996 NA Exhaust design

Hi
I am a newbie to Rennlist, still havent even figured out where to insert my car description so it comes up at the bottom of my post, so a little help here would be nice.

I just bought a 1998 996 Tiptronic recently, and i really love it. I had a string of 964s when i was younger, (one had the incredible German Auto supercharger kit and Ruf 2 wheels - amazon green Bad Boy kind of car!!)

I am really enjoying having a 9 again. The car rides well, runs well, but really sounded a bit like a sewing machine when i got it to be honest. I pulled out the cats and replaced with resonators which made the car come alive (has 92 000km ~ 50 000 miles). Needed a bit of sound as well, so i did the "Gillette hack" and now it sounds like a sewing machine on steroids! Loving it more and more. Quite a symphony happening out in the rear. Hardly use the stereo now.

I would really like to send it in for a custom exhaust fabrication similar to the afterhours system, but with one straight through muffler on each side, not two. Has anyone tried this? How did it sound? What diameter tubing did you use?

Also, has anyone had any experience with or can offer any advice on joining the two sides of the exhaust together before the cats. How does this affect the sound in a 996? How does it affect the power? What is the effect on the torque?

I am looking for a deep and powerful sound. Not the raspy Gundo hack sound. (to me it seems as if the Gundo hack impersonates a hole in the muffler, no disrespect intended)

I had done this pipe bridge on a 3251 BMW some time ago and it really sounded good and smoothed the torque delivery too. ( I had joined the two exhaust tubes together with a 2" pipe very close to the two collectors.)