Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Oil temp gauge using the built-in oil temp sensor

 
Old 11-05-2015, 03:19 PM
  #31  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by knfeparty View Post
Sorry if I missed this, but how did you identify which plug and pin went to the temperature sensor?

I still want to do this mod to my 996, but more so I want to add a transmission temperature gauge on my cayenne for towing. So, I'll need to figure out the right pin for it, since it also has a built-in temp sender that the durametric can read.
I figured that out from the 996 DME pinout diagram. What year is your Cayenne?
You need the pinout diagram of your Cayenne's transmission control module (under front passenger seat). I have the 2006 Cayenne transmission control module pinout:

- pin 45 Green/Blue oil temp sense "+"
- pin 8 Green/Gray oil temp sense "-"

The two pins are connected to the two-pin temp sensor inside the transmission. You can apply the same principles of my mod so you have to plot the voltage on pin 8 and 45 while reading the actual oil temp from Durametric then decide which pin to use.
Ahsai is online now  
Old 11-05-2015, 08:11 PM
  #32  
knfeparty
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
knfeparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL Duval County
Posts: 4,211
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks a lot; it's a 2004 but I doubt it's different than 2006.

This project is on my long-term to-do list...definitely sounds fun.
knfeparty is offline  
Old 01-09-2016, 01:03 PM
  #33  
ian_alex
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I've just found this thread which seems to be exactly what I am looking for,however, I am not an electronics wizard so couldn't make the kit, fit it yes but thats all!
Has this ever gone into production as a kit?
Appreciate any replies.
Thanks
ian_alex is offline  
Old 01-09-2016, 08:42 PM
  #34  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

A kit would be nice but I have no such plan though. I agree it's meant for someone with some background and interest in electronics. I wish it could be easier but if you want an oil temp reading with fast response, the stock oil temp sensor in the oil sump is at a great location for that as the hot oil from the main/rod bearings drips back to the oil sump.

Originally Posted by ian_alex View Post
I've just found this thread which seems to be exactly what I am looking for,however, I am not an electronics wizard so couldn't make the kit, fit it yes but thats all!
Has this ever gone into production as a kit?
Appreciate any replies.
Thanks
Ahsai is online now  
Old 01-09-2016, 08:49 PM
  #35  
gnat
Super User
 
gnat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,916
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Awesome job man. Count me as another that can't believe they missed this before!

Now to convince the wife to let me modify her car. Maybe if I just show her the latest scored bore thread...

Spent 12 years blissfully ignorant of oil temps, but now that my 958 shows it in digital and analog formats it drives me nuts not being able to see it in the 996. The BMW has always pissed me off that you get neither the oil nor water temps
gnat is offline  
Old 01-09-2016, 09:47 PM
  #36  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks gnat. I think it's due to cost saving for 996.

Actually some bimmers are ok. A 2011 328i has the oil temp gauge front and center on the instrument cluster but it doesn't have voltmeter and coolant temp though. Btw, I measured the parasitic drain on that car and it was within a couple of mA (compared to ours tens of mA). No wonder their batteries last 6+ years. I guess their smart charging system pays off.


Originally Posted by gnat View Post
Awesome job man. Count me as another that can't believe they missed this before!

Now to convince the wife to let me modify her car. Maybe if I just show her the latest scored bore thread...

Spent 12 years blissfully ignorant of oil temps, but now that my 958 shows it in digital and analog formats it drives me nuts not being able to see it in the 996. The BMW has always pissed me off that you get neither the oil nor water temps
Ahsai is online now  
Old 01-10-2016, 05:48 AM
  #37  
ian_alex
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ashai,
Thanks for your reply. I will investigate a stock VDO gauge with sump sensor.
Regards
ian_alex is offline  
Old 08-26-2016, 01:26 AM
  #38  
Slakker
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Slakker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 4,519
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, I'm finally starting to understand this. As a poor man's hack, could you take a 0-5 analog volt meter and relabel it with a sharpie? The strange part would be the needle would read backwards since 0=300F but for $10 it might be dang handy to have for track days.
Slakker is offline  
Old 08-26-2016, 02:17 AM
  #39  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Yes in theory because of the high impedence of the voltmeter. It won't draw much current from the dme.

However, the most interesting oil temp region is between 0 and 0.5v so unless you find a 0.5v voltmeter, the oil temp change won't move the needle much, literally.

Originally Posted by Slakker View Post
Ok, I'm finally starting to understand this. As a poor man's hack, could you take a 0-5 analog volt meter and relabel it with a sharpie? The strange part would be the needle would read backwards since 0=300F but for $10 it might be dang handy to have for track days.
Ahsai is online now  
Old 08-27-2016, 01:31 AM
  #40  
Slakker
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Slakker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 4,519
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Lol. So much for that idea.
Slakker is offline  
Old 12-12-2016, 05:52 AM
  #41  
bartjan
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thus this one might work as poor mans hack?

bartjan is offline  
Old 12-12-2016, 11:28 AM
  #42  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Nope as the internal impedence of the analog voltmeter is too low. The DME won't be able to drive it from that oil temp sensor pin hence the digitial circuit I made.

Originally Posted by bartjan View Post
Thus this one might work as poor mans hack?

Ahsai is online now  
Old 03-30-2017, 10:09 PM
  #43  
Porschetech3
User
 
Porschetech3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Alabama USA
Posts: 1,415
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Or for a REALLY REALLY poor mans hack , you just wire in a small red or blue digital voltage display next to a small list of pertinent readings ie. .5v-220f .4v=225f .3v-230f ect.http://www.ebay.com/itm/3pcs-DC-0-30...-/281308807040

Last edited by Porschetech3; 03-30-2017 at 10:25 PM.
Porschetech3 is offline  
Old 04-15-2017, 10:34 PM
  #44  
jdexter
User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Off topic, but since this data comes off the OBDII port, is there anyway to use one of the bluetooth OBD readers to pick up the data and send it properly? Why can the durametric read it, but my kiwi3 can't?
jdexter is offline  
Old 04-15-2017, 11:01 PM
  #45  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jdexter View Post
Off topic, but since this data comes off the OBDII port, is there anyway to use one of the bluetooth OBD readers to pick up the data and send it properly? Why can the durametric read it, but my kiwi3 can't?
Two problems:
1) the data bus that allows the scanner to talk to the DME for this purpose is on a seperate pin than the regular OBDII pin

2) even if you can physically connect to that pin, the scanner still needs to speak the Porsche specific protocol (not OBD). It needs security authentication of the scanner before the scanner can even query the oil temp sensor value
Ahsai is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Oil temp gauge using the built-in oil temp sensor


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: