Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

How can I get oil temperature on a 996 MkII ?

 
Old 09-16-2012, 01:37 PM
  #16  
Macster
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 17,939
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rpm's S2 View Post
Aside from just being interested, why do you want to see your oil temp?
The oil temp is a better indicator of when the engine is up to temp.

Since the oil is in more direct contact with the hottest parts of the engine and as a result it will be the first to show an abnormal rise in temperature.

Thus oil temp can also help one spot an overheating condition long before one can get this info from the coolant temp.

Ideally the car, a Porsche anyhow, ought to be equipped with a good coolant temp gage, a good oil temp gage, and a good oil pressure gage.

Sincerely,

Macster.
Macster is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 02:41 PM
  #17  
ChristopherG
User
 
ChristopherG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southwest Michigan
Posts: 843
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Even if nothing is going wrong with the car it's good to monitor oil temp especially on the track.

Running hard it's not unusual to see coolant temp stay in the normal range and see oil temp climb pretty quickly during hard driving especially on the track.
ChristopherG is offline  
Old 05-15-2013, 12:47 PM
  #18  
BAD.TAG
User
 
BAD.TAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Resurrecting an old thread, how hard is the top of this sensor to reach? Idea being to tap into the temp reading and run a gauge into the cabin

Anyone have a picture of what the end looks like in the engine bay ?
BAD.TAG is offline  
Old 05-15-2013, 03:51 PM
  #19  
fpena944
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpena944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 9,091
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BAD.TAG View Post
Resurrecting an old thread, how hard is the top of this sensor to reach? Idea being to tap into the temp reading and run a gauge into the cabin

Anyone have a picture of what the end looks like in the engine bay ?
It's not that difficult as I had to change mine out before.

Depending on how flexible you are you can either access it from the top of the engine or you can remove the passenger-side rear tire and go in through there.

You'll be feeling your way through everything but once you have a grasp on it, you can easily remove or replace it. Not sure how you want to tap into it but it's accessible.

If that's not enough you could lower the engine a bit by loosening the engine mounts but that might be a bit much for this job.
fpena944 is offline  
Old 05-15-2013, 05:52 PM
  #20  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fpena944 View Post
It's not that difficult as I had to change mine out before.

Depending on how flexible you are you can either access it from the top of the engine or you can remove the passenger-side rear tire and go in through there.

You'll be feeling your way through everything but once you have a grasp on it, you can easily remove or replace it. Not sure how you want to tap into it but it's accessible.

If that's not enough you could lower the engine a bit by loosening the engine mounts but that might be a bit much for this job.
Sounds like you're talking about the oil PRESSURE sensor and BAD.TAG is looking for the oil TEMP sensor? Photo of the oil TEMP sensor here ni post #10
https://rennlist.com/forums/996-foru...-996-mkii.html
Ahsai is offline  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:57 PM
  #21  
BAD.TAG
User
 
BAD.TAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I believe Fernando is correct, as Macster pointed out it has the wring for both the temp and level.

Just a matter of how easy it would be to get to so one can attach the gauge
BAD.TAG is offline  
Old 05-16-2013, 02:16 PM
  #22  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,281
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BAD.TAG View Post
I believe Fernando is correct, as Macster pointed out it has the wring for both the temp and level.

Just a matter of how easy it would be to get to so one can attach the gauge
Yes, that dual sensor part is correct. I was just trying to point out there's no easy way to access that sensor if you look at the photo in that thread. The sensor sits on top of the engine right above the crank pulley. Not the same procedures Fernando has described (remove rear tire).
Ahsai is offline  
Old 05-16-2013, 10:08 PM
  #23  
Adker
User
 
Adker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West of East
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The wiring goes to the DME through connector x59/2 located on the right side of the engine. I need to go looking for this connector and see if it can be tapped.

Last edited by Adker; 09-07-2013 at 11:06 PM.
Adker is offline  
Old 05-16-2013, 11:03 PM
  #24  
BAD.TAG
User
 
BAD.TAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Adker I like your thinking..please share what you find
BAD.TAG is offline  
Old 05-16-2013, 11:10 PM
  #25  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I really hope someone find a way to get oil temp in the 996, that would really be a step forward for all track rats
philooo is offline  
Old 05-17-2013, 06:50 PM
  #26  
Adker
User
 
Adker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West of East
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Looks like the x59 connectors are right were the book said. The wire bundle is wrapped in cloth tape so it should be easy to remove. One of mine is already starting to unwind. Using the same path that Jake documented for his monitor, it should be easy to get a wire to the dash. I need to use the Durametric to read the oil temp while looking at the signal to see how to make an interface circuit. I was thinking about a small box with a Hi temp warning red LED that can be user set and a three digit readout.

Last edited by Adker; 09-07-2013 at 11:06 PM.
Adker is offline  
Old 11-04-2013, 11:43 PM
  #27  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Adker,

did you look into this ?

I am so surprised nobody tried to get an oil temp gauge in their car. The sensor is there indeed, just no way to read it unless you can drive with laptop on your ... lap
philooo is offline  
Old 11-04-2013, 11:54 PM
  #28  
Adker
User
 
Adker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West of East
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have the spare sensor and harness in the garage and I need to do some checking into the P/N to determine what type of signal it outputs...it could be a CAN bus signal or just resistive.

I have only lightly tracked this car but I do see a need. Maybe my other car will break and get me into gear.
Adker is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 02:52 PM
  #29  
pesuazo
User
 
pesuazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC - Now near Raleigh, NC
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am pretty sure it is a resistive signal......here is what I gather from the Wiring of the 996:

1.- Sheet 3; Coordinates K, L 11
--- Notice that it is an oil level sensor as well an oil temperature sensor.....Pins 1 and 3 of the sensor sends the resistive signal to the DME (oil temperature)...pins 2 and 4 handle the oil level

2.- Sheet 12; Coordinate E118
---Notice the motor oil temperature goes into Pin 73 of the DME

3.- Sheet 18; Coordinate L172
The motor oil temperature signal also goes to plug III (52 pins) of the Motronic/E-gas module.....to be specific....pin 5

4.- What is not clear is if the DME sends the signal out to a GUI (may be the OBC or the AC panel display???)

--- One of the posts above shows a link to a place where someone was able to toggle the AC screen to show other data...perhaps oil temp is one of them...

Regards,

PESuazo
pesuazo is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 03:40 PM
  #30  
ditto
User
 
ditto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 424
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

See post #43 of the Everything You Didn't Know about Your Porsche sticky. It says that 1C may be oil temperature.
ditto is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How can I get oil temperature on a 996 MkII ?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: