Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

How can I get oil temperature on a 996 MkII ?

 
Old 09-13-2012, 12:42 AM
  #1  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How can I get oil temperature on a 996 MkII ?

I believe the MkI model has oil temperature reading but my MKII doesn't have it

Did anybody found am easy way to display the oil temperature in real time inside the car ? I am sure the car computer has it but is there a gadget out there I can plug in the OBDII to read it ?

I found this old thread explaining how to display the oil temp on MKI models on the HVAC console

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?t=647763

would love to know if there is a similar trick on MKII cars.
philooo is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 03:23 PM
  #2  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

bump, anobody ?
philooo is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 06:36 PM
  #3  
halik
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
halik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 1,369
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Interested as well
halik is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 07:31 PM
  #4  
Macster
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 17,937
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by philooo View Post
I believe the MkI model has oil temperature reading but my MKII doesn't have it

Did anybody found am easy way to display the oil temperature in real time inside the car ? I am sure the car computer has it but is there a gadget out there I can plug in the OBDII to read it ?

I found this old thread explaining how to display the oil temp on MKI models on the HVAC console

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?t=647763

would love to know if there is a similar trick on MKII cars.
AFAIK, there is no back door to getting (among other things) oil temperature from these vehicles. If there is no oil temp gage oil temp is not available, directly.

Also, my best info is that oil temperature is available, in as best I can tell all vehicles in the context of this section (and the Boxster section too).

Oil temperature is available while at least in one case (my 02 Boxster) oil pressure is not available.

(Oil pressure is available, in a very limited fashion: When the engine cranks then begins to run oil pressure builds and this extinguishes the low oil pressure warning light.)

Oil temperature for vehicles that have this yet do not bring it out to the dash via an oil temperature gage is available.

Without going into too much detail the sensor values may be available via a Mode (aka "service") 1 PID above the 1st 32. (PID - parameter ID.)

For instance Mode 1 Pid 0x5C is a one byte value of oil temperature ranging from -40C to +215C. This may or may not be from an temp sensor, though. It might be an inferred/derived value using other sensor inputs

An OBD2 code reader/data viewer that supports Mode 1 Pids above the 1st 32 should be able to ask the vehicle for this value if (big if) the vehicle (its population of controllers, primarily the DME) supports this PID.

Or the info could be available via a a Porsche proprietary query too.

I know for instance my 02 Boxster does not support Mode 1 Pid 0x5C, but it does provide oil temperature for I had a tech read it and give me a printout. However, the oil temperature was read along with a rather large amount of other data (the tech said "20 pages" worth) that I never got to see.

All I got was the page that gave the oil temperature along with some other pieces of data which I do not recall.

Durametric might provide a means to query the vehicle for this but I have no experience with Durametric.

Sincerely,

Macster.
Macster is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:25 PM
  #5  
Marc Gelefsky
Super Moderator
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Marc Gelefsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 16,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Durametric will give you real time oil temp. It's under actual values.
Marc Gelefsky is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:38 PM
  #6  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

argh so I have to drive around the track with my laptop lol gr8!
philooo is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:43 PM
  #7  
Marc Gelefsky
Super Moderator
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Marc Gelefsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 16,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by philooo View Post
argh so I have to drive around the track with my laptop lol gr8!
Well, there that or find a place for a gauge.

Marc Gelefsky is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 02:57 AM
  #8  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

problem is where / what do I connect the gauge to ?

can I put a sensor somewhere on the engine ? I wonder where
philooo is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 11:52 AM
  #9  
nick49
User
 
nick49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,970
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Oil temperature sending units are available to fit in your drain plug hole.
nick49 is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 01:45 PM
  #10  
Byprodriver
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: So.CA
Posts: 2,425
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by philooo View Post
problem is where / what do I connect the gauge to ?

can I put a sensor somewhere on the engine ? I wonder where
OEM oil temp/oil level sensor is located on top of the case between cyl#4 & #5
Attached Images  
Byprodriver is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 04:54 PM
  #11  
bar
User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Isn't that the oil level sensor?
bar is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 06:55 PM
  #12  
Macster
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 17,937
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bar View Post
Isn't that the oil level sensor?
It provides both readings. The tube extends down into the oil and has 4 wires. One runs down to a thermister which then has a wire from it running back up the tube which provides an analog temperature reading.

Another wire bare from about mid way down to the bottom is looped around some post at the bottom of the tube then comes back up.

This bare wire, or wires, is used to measure the oil's level by resistance.

Yes, I cut one apart. Hasn't everybody?

Sincerely,

Macster.
Macster is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 11:13 AM
  #13  
rpm's S2
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
rpm's S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 2,626
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Aside from just being interested, why do you want to see your oil temp?
rpm's S2 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 12:15 PM
  #14  
kromdom
Super User
 
kromdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,203
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by rpm's S2 View Post
Aside from just being interested, why do you want to see your oil temp?
Was wondering the same thing. In my naive, non-mechanical mind: the Porsche engineers, by NOT adding an oil temp gauge, probably thought regular Joe driver does not need one.
kromdom is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 12:21 PM
  #15  
himself
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
himself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,650
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

IIRC, cars that have the AC diagnotic feature have oil temp readings there. My old 2000 C2 had AC diagnostic feature active, but I'm not sure about the oil temp. Not sure if other years had it.

-td
himself is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How can I get oil temperature on a 996 MkII ?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: