Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

No sound on both Front Dash Speakers

 
Old 07-07-2012, 01:49 AM
  #1  
St911
User
Thread Starter
 
St911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No sound on both Front Dash Speakers

It has no sound on the dash speaker, and this tweeter was found below the speaker grill.




Do they look mess or original wires?




Brought the brand new Pioneer TS-D1002R 4" speakers, still no sound after connect it.




I tried the rear speaker to dash, but still no sound. anyone changed their dash speaker can help?
St911 is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 03:27 AM
  #2  
NZ951
Super User
 
NZ951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Zealand massive
Posts: 13,772
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

They are not factory wires... I would get your multimeter out mate.
NZ951 is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 11:29 AM
  #3  
skiracer
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
skiracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 1,087
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Agreed - someone has been in there before.
skiracer is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 12:50 PM
  #4  
Dharn55
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Dharn55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wilmette, IL
Posts: 2,223
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

What a mess!! The OEM wiring is two wires from the amp to each speaker, then they use resistors on leads from the mids to the tweeters to filter out the lower frequencies. Someone did a hatchet job on this install.
Dharn55 is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 03:24 PM
  #5  
St911
User
Thread Starter
 
St911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dharn55 View Post
What a mess!! The OEM wiring is two wires from the amp to each speaker, then they use resistors on leads from the mids to the tweeters to filter out the lower frequencies. Someone did a hatchet job on this install.
I saw the two wires from the amp and another two wires to the tweeters, but I didn't know which wires should I cut form the mess part. Could u take a picture of your wires for me?
St911 is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 04:03 PM
  #6  
halik
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
halik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 1,369
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ohhhhh radioshack mess. I wouldn't be surprised if it shorted out something in the amp, those resistors have live leads showing...
halik is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 06:28 PM
  #7  
Dharn55
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Dharn55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wilmette, IL
Posts: 2,223
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Do you have two sets of wires running to each speaker from the amp or one set? What amp are you using, the OEM or another. It looks like the speakers you are installing are coaxial and you only need one set of wires. The OEM are component so you have to split the signal frenquencies.

Does your car have the HiFi option with door speakers? A little more information and I should be able to give you some guidance.
Dharn55 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: No sound on both Front Dash Speakers


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: