Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

First three weeks of ownership = Nightmare!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2012, 07:51 PM
CR
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First three weeks of ownership = Nightmare!

Thanks to many of you, three weeks ago I bought my first 911, an SY '99 (84k miles). I was so excited.

Car had a PPI at a reputable ind. Porsche shop, all checked out okay other than the AOS leaking a little. It had been popping out of 1st gear on occasion, but a second look from another shop confirmed that the shifter cables needed adjustment. It was done, problem solved. Great.

So everything was in order, I drove the car home, and immediately I noticed a small whine/hum in 4th gear at cruising speed (50mph). That just didn't sound right. Then, it starts popping out of first gear again. I've been driving stick for a good 20 years and know what I'm doing, so something was wrong.

Took the car back to the shop that did the shifter cables immediately, and the owner test drove and confirmed the first gear pop out. He also confirmed (so I thought) that the pinion bearing was toast and needed to be replaced. Crap.

Luckily, the dealer I bought from stepped up and paid for the work. They also found another gear that needed replacing in the tranny, and I took the opportunity to have the IMS retro and AOS done.

Two and a half weeks later (yesterday), I get the car back after almost $4,300 in repairs. This also ended up including new shifter cables for the first gear pop out. So I should be set. Right?

NO! The whine/hum is still there, and the thing still pops out of first gear on occasion. WTF! Called the shop this morning and let them know and they are taking it back in on Tuesday to look at it again.

This is a very awkward position to be in. I don't know these cars well enough to know what is wrong on either account, but I feel like I just paid a boatload of money to fix something that wasn't even fixed!