Sponsored by:

A few questions about brake pad wear

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2012, 10:13 PM
dotframe
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default A few questions about brake pad wear

I was checking my pad thickness in prep for a PDS event at TWS in a few weeks (anyone else going?) and noticed something a bit odd. I'm still pretty new to DIY on brakes so these may be dumb questions.

After measuring several times I found that 3 of the 4 front pads are about 7.5mm but one of them (the driver's side outside pad) is 6.5mm. Is it normal for one pad to wear so differently than others?

Also, 6.5-7.5mm of material left up front, and 8-8.5mm on the rears is considered about 1/2 that of new pads, isn't it? I don't really want to put on new pads until after my next DE.
Old 01-16-2012, 07:42 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 253 Likes on 223 Posts

Originally Posted by dotframe
I was checking my pad thickness in prep for a PDS event at TWS in a few weeks (anyone else going?) and noticed something a bit odd. I'm still pretty new to DIY on brakes so these may be dumb questions.

After measuring several times I found that 3 of the 4 front pads are about 7.5mm but one of them (the driver's side outside pad) is 6.5mm. Is it normal for one pad to wear so differently than others?

Also, 6.5-7.5mm of material left up front, and 8-8.5mm on the rears is considered about 1/2 that of new pads, isn't it? I don't really want to put on new pads until after my next DE.
It happens. It may be normal. It may not be normal. Depends. You should always suspect the worst and carefully inspect the brake and brake hardware for any signs of problems other than the usual wear of the pads and rotors. Even if the pad wear is even you should always treat the brakes with the attention safety critical hardware deserves.

Last pad change of my 02 Boxster I found 3 of the 4 front pads worn down to the point the hole for the wear sensor was worn to half its diameter.