Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Just got a 2002 996 TT and I have a question.

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2011, 04:44 PM
innovator
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got a 2002 996 TT and I have a question.

Hello gentlemen.

I just picked up a 2002 996tt with 10,000 miles on it. I traded in my 2003 Audi RS6. All seems well, except that after warmed up, I hear a rattle coming from underneath the engine. I am an Audi tech, and I hear noises all the time, but this has me a little nervous. I know these engines aren't silent, but it seems a little loud to be normal? I may have been a little to over-zealous when I picked up the car, and overlooked it...

I read about the IMS shaft issues, and the only way I can describe this noise is like a rat,rat,rat,rat.... Seems to get worse when the engine is hot, but diminishes when the engine is reved over 1000 rpm. Depressing the clutch makes no difference.

Thank-you Rick

Last edited by innovator; 08-28-2011 at 05:13 PM.
Old 08-28-2011, 04:52 PM
Philip P
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I believe the IMS is not a problem in the twin turbo motors
Old 08-28-2011, 05:03 PM
innovator
Advanced

I did read the turbo does not suffer from the IMS issue. So then, is the rattle normal on a six speed turbo at idle ?? This is my first 996 and I'm unsure what is normal and what is not. If it were an Audi , it definitely would not be normal.

Rick
Old 08-28-2011, 05:03 PM
Dharn55
Drifting

Received 173 Likes on 107 Posts

The TT has the old case design from the air cooled era. The IMS design is completely different and the IMS bearings are pressure fed and the design is much less prone to the IMS failures experienced with the M96/97 series engines.
Old 08-28-2011, 05:32 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

Originally Posted by innovator
Hello gentlemen.