Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Oil pressure sender unit replacement - DIY

 
Old 09-14-2009, 08:45 PM
  #16  
Schützenweber
User
 
Schützenweber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newport Beach
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by deckman View Post
Tell them exactly what happened and tell them you know from research it is the oil pressure sensor part # 996 606 203 02 that needs replacing.
Thanks, deckman!

Hopefully that's it and not the gauge, requiring a new instrument cluster like EB847 wrote about ...

Originally Posted by EB847 View Post
result: i need a new cluster for a faulty oil pressure guage. luckily it's cpo fix! engine is fine, no codes. whew!
Schützenweber is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 12:40 PM
  #17  
kpl
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

remove and clean the electrical connections to the sending unit and see if that solves your problem. That worked for me. Put some dielectric grease on the connectors to keep them clean and prevent future corrosion from developing. I'd bet that a lot of failed sending units were just bad electrical connections.
kpl is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 12:48 PM
  #18  
deckman
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 883
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I tried that first and would also recommend it. It didn't work for me but will for some others.
deckman is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 12:49 PM
  #19  
andru1313
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

will this work on a 996 turbo? I have a 2001 that is getting the electronic failure. Dealer wants 600 to replace. I usually don't work on the Porsche myself. I have built many other motors but for some reason I have not messed with the 996. So if its this simple I may just do it but want to make sure that its the same on the turbo. Thanks.
andru1313 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 01:04 AM
  #20  
Van
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Van's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 11,877
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

For the last 2 days my oil pressure gauge has been intermittent... It's gone from a normal reading to pegging at the top of the gauge (above 5 bar), then dropping back down to normal at idle.

I'll call my buddies at Suncoast tomorrow!
Van is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:19 AM
  #21  
andru1313
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If anyone can let me know if its the same process on the Turbo that would be great. I plan on doing this soon as I find the service manual on line for the porsche. My issue is when I do the electronic check it says failure so can't read the oil level. NO issue with the oil pressure so its an electronic issue. any help would be really appreciated..
andru1313 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 12:52 PM
  #22  
Van
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Van's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 11,877
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Andru, there is a different sensor for oil level... that might be what's bad on your car.
Van is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 03:23 PM
  #23  
Gaspasser19
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gaspasser19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Friendship, MD
Posts: 3,422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ah, where was this thread when I had mine towed for the same issue while it was CPO. The stealership nimrods couldn't figure it out any better than they did anything else on the car. Mine still acts up every once in awhile. Bookmarked for my next maintenance week vacation!
Gaspasser19 is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 03:23 PM
  #24  
Van
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Van's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 11,877
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I finally got around to changing that sending unit. It was a piece of cake!! It took more time to drive the car on and off the lift than it took to change it.

Step 1: reach hand in and unplug wires
Step 2: raise car
Step 3: with a 19mm crows foot wrench and a wobble extension, loosen sender
Step 4: lower car
Step 5: reach in and unscrew/remove sender
Step 6: drink beer and congratulate yourself for being half done
Step 7: reach in with new sender in your hand and screw it in
Step 8: raise car
Step 9: tighten new sender with 19mm crows foot wrench on a wobble extension
Step 10: lower car
Step 11: connect wires (luckily they are different size plugs!)
Step 12: drink more beer and congratulate yourself on a job well done!
Van is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 03:41 PM
  #25  
Barn996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Barn996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kittery, Maine
Posts: 11,795
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Only a 2 beer job...nice.
Barn996 is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 07:33 AM
  #26  
6C4GTS
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am doing thsi job in the next week as the failure signals are getting too frequent and I am getting bored of them. For the record can guys confirm that there is no danger to anything if the unit fails altogether except an inability to monitor pressure remotely?
6C4GTS is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 08:35 PM
  #27  
Van
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Van's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 11,877
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 6C4GTS View Post
there is no danger to anything if the unit fails altogether except an inability to monitor pressure remotely?
100% correct.
Van is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:02 AM
  #28  
Bozbomber
User
 
Bozbomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Van View Post
I finally got around to changing that sending unit. It was a piece of cake!! It took more time to drive the car on and off the lift than it took to change it.

Step 1: reach hand in and unplug wires
Step 2: raise car
Step 3: with a 19mm crows foot wrench and a wobble extension, loosen sender
Step 4: lower car
Step 5: reach in and unscrew/remove sender
Step 6: drink beer and congratulate yourself for being half done
Step 7: reach in with new sender in your hand and screw it in
Step 8: raise car
Step 9: tighten new sender with 19mm crows foot wrench on a wobble extension
Step 10: lower car
Step 11: connect wires (luckily they are different size plugs!)
Step 12: drink more beer and congratulate yourself on a job well done!
I have the same symptom happen on my Targa, the oil pressure stays in maximum level and all the sudden it will drop to 0 with failure indicator code show on dash display. I just ordered the oil pressure sender today and expecting to be arrive before end of this week.

I wonder how do you know which wire goes to which plug?
Bozbomber is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:24 AM
  #29  
int90
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bozbomber View Post
I wonder how do you know which wire goes to which plug?
The 2 plugs are different size in my 996TT.
int90 is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 08:28 PM
  #30  
Bozbomber
User
 
Bozbomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by int90 View Post
The 2 plugs are different size in my 996TT.
Really? I pulled mine few weeks ago to clean it hoping to make the issue go away and remember it both plugs are the same size...
Bozbomber is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Oil pressure sender unit replacement - DIY


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: