Sponsored by:

Drivers Ed Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2009, 10:44 AM
Dutchie in NC
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drivers Ed Questions

Will be doing my first DE event at CMP later this month and wanted to get some insights from you pro's who have done this multiple times before:

- What tire pressure should I run?
- Have heard people talk about racing tape and taping headlights. What is this for (protection from stones, I gues?)... should I tape things up? Is this just simple painters/masking tape?
- Other than the usual stuff that PCA recommends to bring, any other items you can think of?
- Any books I should read before hand that will help me out?
- Other thoughts/tips?

Thx!

PS Gonna be 68 in CLT today/tomorrow... NICE... will be driving with the top down!!
Old 02-07-2009, 11:14 AM
buckwheat987
Burning Brakes

I'm a novice to DE but I have taken the PSDS.

I can tell you that two books that people keep recommending that I have bought and think are good are:

"speed secrets" by ross bentley

"going faster" by the skip barber school guys
Old 02-07-2009, 11:25 AM
himself
Rennlist Member

Received 37 Likes on 28 Posts

Originally Posted by Dutchie in NC
Will be doing my first DE event at CMP later this month and wanted to get some insights from you pro's who have done this multiple times before:

What tires do you have? Well, I guess it doesn't matter. For your 1st DE, just run at or a little below OEM pressures.

- Have heard people talk about racing tape and taping headlights. What is this for (protection from stones, I gues?)... should I tape things up? Is this just simple painters/masking tape?
It's just blue painters tape. There's no point in taping, a little blue tape isn't going to repel a rock hurled at you at 100MPH.

- Other than the usual stuff that PCA recommends to bring, any other items you can think of?