Sponsored by:

Complete newbie - detailing and washing

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2007, 12:04 AM
Irksome
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete newbie - detailing and washing

So I've got this great car, and it looks amazing. But it gets dirty!

I went to wash it today, and realized I had no clue what I should be doing. This isn't my 1993 Saturn SC2, I can't just get a sponge, dish soap, and start scrubbing!

After searching a bunch, and reading probably 20 threads about washing, I realize I don't even have the vocabulary for fine automotive detailing, let alone the tools and techniques.

I figure the best place to start is to find a quality professional detailer and get my baby looking great, and start small with washing after that. So, my first question is, how do I find a good detailer/car wash? I know a few hand-wash joints, but how do I tell the good from the bad? Does anyone have any recommendations for a shop in San Diego? The car is 4 years old, and is probably due (overdue?) for some wax, and while I like the finish, I'd like it to be better.

Second, though I learned that I know very little by reading through the posts here, nowhere did I find a 'auto detailing for dummies' thread. Is there a book, post, web site, or other resource I can consult to get started?

I came home from a drive today (~150 miles, nearly all winding mountain roads, woo-hoo!), and the car really needs a bath! Help me out!
Old 03-05-2007, 12:23 PM
slant911
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I have just one word for you.....Zaino.

www.zainostore.com

Plenty there to read. Best stuff since sliced bread.
Old 03-05-2007, 12:30 PM
spiderv6
Rennlist Member

Received 268 Likes on 139 Posts

I personally wouldn't go near these detailing people unless they are regularly dealing with top end cars and picky picky owners in which case it's gonna cost you a bundle.