Sponsored by:

N rated tire

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2006, 12:43 PM
bdiamond001
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default N rated tire

Been lurking out there, since buying my '02 Targa in Jan. I have recently become a member. I have read many of the posts on tires. I liked the handling of the Pirrelli P Rosso but the wear on the rear tires is terrible. Damon at Tire Rack suggested the non N rated Potenza RE5o50A. Any comments, I am a daily driver who is not hard on car. Hope to post pictures soon.
Old 11-06-2006, 02:54 PM
newport996
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

In my opinion..the N rating for most tires is not a big deal...My first porsche a 97 Boxster was bought from a Porsche dealer with new Kumhos on it. They were great tires...not N rated. My 996 now has the NON N rated Sport Conti's and it never handled better...got a CRAZY deal on them and I couldnt pass up on them...what's the difference? who knows....maybe Porsche hasnt certified this compound...maybe no difference except they know they can charge more for the N rating. This wouldnt bother me especially if Damon recommended the tires.
Old 11-06-2006, 04:13 PM
Dr_KarlB
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I had OEM N-rated Dunlops, and these were a real POS.
I didnt realize how bad until they were gone.
I got the RE-050 Pole Positions as they were a great deal at the time on Tire Rack.
They have about 2000 miles and two track days on them now.
They look about 20% worn at a guess, so if i get 10k i'll be happy.
They are good at the track for a novice like me and much better on the street.
Ive never really understood the road noise issue.. PSE and Cab make a lot of noise anyway, and its not like i need to talk on the cell phone when i drive.

Also, the Bridgestone N rated offerings for 996 will all be obsolete next year, and replaced by RE050's and RE750's. A lot of people like the 750's for the long wear life
Old 11-06-2006, 06:01 PM
TamiyaGuy
Rennlist Member