Negotiation Advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2003, 09:22 PM
Cash
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Negotiation Advice

I've been debating on an 03 C2 coupe for several months. Today I made an offer on an ordered car with about $10K in options and received a counter offer that was $3000 more than the same dealer offered me in November. Is what I believed to be a buyer's market shifting? Any advice on Washington DC area dealers (or East Coast) that have a rep for favorable negotiating? Thanks.
Old 02-22-2003, 10:01 PM
TurboMark
Pro

My advice:

1) Don't give your money to a bad dealer or a sales person that is trying to take you for a ride.
2) All of the dealers can be found here -- <a href="http://www.porschedealer.com/." target="_blank">http://www.porschedealer.com/.</a> One of them will give you the deal you are looking for.
3) Don't listen to anyone who tells you to pay the dealers price ... so that you can build a good relationship (with the dealer).
4)Finally, as my grandfather always taught me, they have the [fill in the blank], but I have the money!
Old 02-23-2003, 12:08 AM
Arthur
Pro

Mark,
Did you ever buy from a Porsche dealer? I understand that Mercedes dealers don't deal. Apparently that is an order from corporate.
Old 02-23-2003, 10:15 AM
Mike in MD
Advanced

HBL in Tysons gave me a very fair deal, but it was December 30. Maybe the market has turned.

IMHO better deals are made with cars in stock over ordering.

Keep calling around. It's the only way to know what market prices are. Work from dealer cost, not sticker.
Old 02-23-2003, 11:10 AM
MJones
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
You have to be ready to write the check, its that simple.
Was this the same car or a different one some 3+ months later? Are you dealing with the same people with whom you delt with 3 months ago?
Just order a car configured the way you want it.
Be a waiter for 3-4 months
Write a check and smile!
Old 02-23-2003, 11:25 AM
TurboMark