ticking and groaning noise

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2005, 02:56 AM
Superfans
Racer

Received 35 Likes on 23 Posts
Default ticking and groaning noise

Dear everyone,

Hi, I am a newbie to this board. I understand that many people from this board are experienced Porsche technicians/owners and hope that you will have the answers to my questions. Actually I am encountering some problem with my 996tt and am wondering if you guys can help me to find out what was wrong with my car.

Problems:

1. Ticking noise from the dashboard area (it seems that the noise will go away if I turn off the air con);
2. Groaning/Moaning noise from front of the car (I think the noise is from underneath my car);
3. When I start the car in the morning, everything seems fine at the begining. However, once I put the gear into D, the rpm of the engine will drop and the car wants to stall as if it does not have enough fuel.

I shall be grateful if you can let me have your views on the above. Thanks in advance.

Best regards.
Old 05-11-2005, 06:48 AM
fast1
Race Car

Received 220 Likes on 146 Posts

It may be a good idea to post your question in the 996 TT section of this Board.
Old 05-11-2005, 07:27 AM
Superfans
Racer

My apology. The reason I post it here is because I thought some 996 owners might have encountered the same or similar problems.
Old 05-11-2005, 09:42 AM
kilrgt
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

The ticking could be a retaining tag that is used in the center vents, if this was removed incorrectly, and re-installed the tab could have broken off and is moving around in the vent.....happened to me
Old 05-11-2005, 10:34 AM
mundman
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

check your air filter and scan for codes for the stalling problem.
Old 05-12-2005, 11:16 PM
Superfans
Racer