Sponsored by:

Alignment - options and additional value

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2023, 03:24 PM
plpete84
Drifting

Received 1,722 Likes on 881 Posts
Default Alignment - options and additional value

So I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to alignments. I know some basics and since I'll be adding my adjustable rear toe arms soon to help with dialing out some rear inner tire wear I experienced I've called around to see what my local shops were offering. I've gotten quotes for anywhere from $175ish to $520ish - this is for a 4 wheel alignment and it does not include corner balancing. Pretty much all places I called, including my local dealer, all use a Hunter alignment system or something similar - don't recall the name. Seeing this done in person previously, the system provides suggested settings for a selected vehicle and basically walks the technician through the adjustments.

My objective is a fairly mild alignment for a car that will be driven 7-10k miles a year with an occasional track outing. I will not be chasing lap times much and will be more focused on having a good time and learning car control and being smooth. With that, I'm not looking for anything on the aggressive side. If most places I've reached out to use a fairly similar system for alignments, what would the value of a $500 alignment be vs a $200 one or what should I be asking for or expecting from the pricier one?
Old 05-18-2023, 06:06 PM
hatchetf15
Rennlist Member

Received 959 Likes on 598 Posts

OP-So you have coils and moderate drop, correct? Techs use the same specs, machines and turn the same widgets. No value added for an alignment with no corner balance for a pricier bill. If you take the car to a shop that sees 996’s, odds are better they’ll know how to get really close to numbers with no variation side-to-side for roughly the same price point as the cheaper quotes.

I had my alignment done last year, to GT3 book spec, at a good Porsche shop here with no fuss for $200.