Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

996 Spark Plug, Coil & Tube Replacement (Long & Detailed)

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2020, 08:11 PM
ssherman68
Racer

Received 174 Likes on 115 Posts
Default 996 Spark Plug, Coil & Tube Replacement (Long & Detailed)

Last weekend I jumped in and replaced the spark plugs, coils and spark plug tubes on my two month old (to me) 996. My model is a 1999 C2 coupe with 37K miles. While it’s really low miles for its age, the spark plugs most likely have never been done and it’s 21 years old. So I decided to replace the coils and tubes while I’m in there. This is only the second or third thing I’ve done to my 996 that required any serious wrench turning. While this job isn’t difficult tech-wise, the plugs aren’t easy to get to so I wanted to be well prepared.

I am NOT a mechanic and the is my first time doing this job so I’m detailing every step, even the ones that should be obvious to seasoned weekend wrench turners. There is a lot of good information here on Rennlist, Renntech, Youtube, etc but I still had questions. What is a tube and why do you need it? Do I need to do anything to accommodate the larger new style coils? Do need a 3” extension, a 4” extension, 6” extension or all of the above? Also, I notice that people with a lot of experience tend to leave out details that are obvious to them but not to someone doing it for the first time.

This DIY covers this job without removing the mufflers. Unlike older DIYs, it has information on using the newer 997 style coil. Doing this DIY helped me prepare for the job and hopefully it will help others consolidate all the information I had to find from different sources.

Helpful links

https://www.renntech.org/tutorials/a...-instructions/
https://rennlist.com/forums/996-foru...ssues-etc.html (See Spark Plugs and Tubes)
https://www.pelicanparts.com/techart...park_Plugs.htm
http://howtoporsche.com/porsche-main...nce-checklist/

Steps at a glance

1. Chock both front wheels.