Sponsored by:

Injector Discussion

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2019, 10:48 AM
Quaz
Instructor

Received 95 Likes on 42 Posts
Default Injector Discussion

I have seen quite a few posts recently about preventively replacing injectors in hopes to head off possible cylinder wall scoring. Now I am no longer a mechanic by profession, but I used to be and I have built several engines over the last 20 years. None of those engines were Porsche flat sixes, but one of them was a 928 S4 32v V8. So I have seen what a damaged engine looks like and I have seen what causes failures. Which leads me to this discussion and I just want to talk about injectors. Specifically the value of replacing them at a certain age. In all my years working on cars I have never seen "leaky" injectors that wash out a cylinder. I have seen temp sensors cause a car to go rich and wash down cylinders. I have seen fuel pumps and regulators go crazy and increase pressure and wash down cylinders, but I have never seen a leaky injector wash down a cylinder to the point where it causes wall scoring. Not that it can't happen and I am some super expert on it, but I personally not seen that kind of failure. So some of my observations about injectors.
  • Injector failure is random, so if we were seeing injectors fail they would cause random cylinders to fail. Not the same 2 cylinders on every car. The data would be all over the place.
  • When you have injectors reconditioned they are pressure tested to hold a specific PSI. If they fail that test they are junk. If an injector was to leak down fuel over time it would only be bleeding off excess pressure at a very slow rate. Probably at a rate in which the fuel would evaporate before it pools. Assuming there even is enough to pool. So again not enough to wash out a cylinder.