Oil Pressure

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2018, 07:34 PM
rway
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil Pressure

Hi Guys,

I'm a new owner of a 1998 911/996. - Absolutely love it o bits. Had it for a while now and had no problems. However, i've been doing a few more KM's and my engine this morning was over heating and the oil pressure is up to 4.5? I'm about 2 weeks out from a service.

I assume it needs more oil and to check this? However my question is do i need to check anything else to make sure i don't damage the engine?

The engine was whining and heat/smoke was coming from the back. Drove it about 100m then put it back in the garage.

Any advice would be amazing as i'm a novice Porsche owner

Thanks in advance RW

Old 10-08-2018, 09:10 PM
808Bill
Rennlist Member

Received 805 Likes on 543 Posts

Tow it to someone that know what they are doing!
Old 10-09-2018, 02:37 AM
Projekt EPiK
Rennlist Member

Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts

reading this and your other thread.. now hearing about the whining and over heating.. I'm going to bet on the water pump impeller is shot. Was the car idling higher when it was over heating? That would explain the higher oil pressure reading.
Old 10-09-2018, 09:34 AM
NuttyProfessor
Three Wheelin'

Received 218 Likes on 162 Posts

Originally Posted by rway
Hi Guys,

I'm a new owner of a 1998 911/996. - Absolutely love it o bits. Had it for a while now and had no problems. However, i've been doing a few more KM's and my engine this morning was over heating and the oil pressure is up to 4.5? I'm about 2 weeks out from a service.

I assume it needs more oil and to check this? However my question is do i need to check anything else to make sure i don't damage the engine?

The engine was whining and heat/smoke was coming from the back. Drove it about 100m then put it back in the garage.

Any advice would be amazing as i'm a novice Porsche owner

Thanks in advance RW