Tips and guidance needed - troubleshooting airbag with Foxwell NT510 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 996 Forum
Reload this Page >

Tips and guidance needed - troubleshooting airbag with Foxwell NT510

Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Tips and guidance needed - troubleshooting airbag with Foxwell NT510

Old 02-15-2018, 09:54 AM
  #1  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default Tips and guidance needed - troubleshooting airbag with Foxwell NT510

I picked up a Foxwell NT510 in December, I ordered the Porsche version (you can get one model or I think the pro which does many brands). Their spec sheet says it works with my car year and model.

I just got around to trying it last night, and it is pretty interesting, lots of good stuff in a small handheld unit.

One if the first things I wanted to do is resetting airbag lights - both of my cars have them on (one because I replaced the seats with the battery connected, and the other because it had racing seats in it before I put the stock seats back in).

The unit works fine, it reads codes, can track real time values, etc. But I can’t figure out how to see the airbag stuff, and I think I’ve looked at all of the menus.

When I google this, the YouTube video shows a guy whose NT510 has a Porsche logo on the home screen, in addition to the OBD II icon. Mine doesn’t have a Porsche (or any other manufacturer) icon, so I’m wondering if I have to install, configure, or download something to activate it.

I do have an email out to their support people ( I got an out of office reply because it is Chinese New Year), but I know some of you have used this same unit to reset airbag codes. Can you share any tips, tricks or advice?

Thanks!

Last edited by cds72911; 02-15-2018 at 12:35 PM.
cds72911 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 01:16 PM
  #2  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 3,027
Default

Maybe this page of their website will help, but I do note that Porsche is not in the list of supported cars, however the same page says that resetting the airbag light is supported: http://blog.foxwelltool.com/foxwell-...well-nt510-ok/
DBJoe996 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 01:43 PM
  #3  
nckwrnr
User
 
nckwrnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 91
Default

I have the same scanner and used it to clear my airbag light. Sounds like yours doesn't have the manufacturer specific hardware loaded on it. Should have a Porsche logo on the home screen if not it will just work like a generic OBD II scanner. Mine came loaded with the Porsche software. Its $70 to add any others.
nckwrnr is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 02:07 PM
  #4  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default

Originally Posted by nckwrnr View Post
I have the same scanner and used it to clear my airbag light. Sounds like yours doesn't have the manufacturer specific hardware loaded on it. Should have a Porsche logo on the home screen if not it will just work like a generic OBD II scanner. Mine came loaded with the Porsche software. Its $70 to add any others.
I suspect that this is exactly the case, it doesn't have the Porsche bits loaded. I bought it direct from Foxwell, and have my original sales receipt in email, and it definitely says that it is the Porsche version. I expect they'll tell me how to update it, once they get back from the Chinese New Year break. Thank you!
cds72911 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 02:10 PM
  #5  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default

Originally Posted by DBJoe996 View Post
Maybe this page of their website will help, but I do note that Porsche is not in the list of supported cars, however the same page says that resetting the airbag light is supported: http://blog.foxwelltool.com/foxwell-...well-nt510-ok/
Hi,

It is easy to gloss past, but the 996 is listed on the image of the table posted on your link. It shows the Airbag module as well.

You're right though, it isn't listed on the ones at the bottom of that page. I think they may have meant that you could add any of those others on the Porsche version of the NT510.

The 996 is definitely on their list of supported cars, and it does cover the Airbag module. Here is another link:

http://www.foxwelltool.com/upload/pr...list-v1_00.pdf

Others here on RennList have used it successfully to troubleshoot and reset airbag codes/issues.

Sounds like they either sent me the wrong one, or I need to download the Porsche add-on.

Thanks!
cds72911 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 02:11 PM
  #6  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 3,027
Default

You get to choose one free car maker software with the Foxwell unit....did you choose Porsche? Maybe you can get the Porsche specific software and update your unit.
http://www.foxwelltool.com/wholesale...e-and-obd.html
DBJoe996 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 02:16 PM
  #7  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default

Originally Posted by DBJoe996 View Post
You get to choose one free car maker software with the Foxwell unit....did you choose Porsche? Maybe you can get the Porsche specific software and update your unit.
http://www.foxwelltool.com/wholesale...e-and-obd.html
I agree with your assessment.

Yes, I did choose Porsche, and verified that my sales receipt (in my email) says Porsche.

Copy/paste from the invoice/reciept:
Item No.SC283
Color/Style:Porsche
Size/Spec.:English
cds72911 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 02:28 PM
  #8  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 3,027
Default

Did you register your unit? You can register and then download/upgrade the software for a specific automaker http://www.foxwelltool.com/service/h...t510-5104.html
DBJoe996 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 02:40 PM
  #9  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default

No, I did not. That sounds like the right next step. I had no idea. Thank you!
cds72911 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 03:03 PM
  #10  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,248
Default

I was just going to suggest go online to see about an update. I had to do the download/update with a different hand held scanner after I unboxed it to get it to work on our Subaru Outback.



fpb111 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 03:36 PM
  #11  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default

@DBJoe996 - You, sir are a genius. That was exactly what the issue was.

For posterity:
  • I needed to register with Foxwell, get an ID
  • Once I registered, I needed to login to their portal and register my NT510 using a serial number and password that is on the help screen in the device
  • I needed to install their desktop software
  • Remove the microsim from the side of the unit
  • Plug the microsim into the microsim/usb adapter (supplied)
  • Download the Porsche software (select Porsche and click download - the first car brand is free, subsequent car brands are an additional charge)
  • Hit the update button, it updates all of the software OBDII, Porsche, etc.
  • Eject the USB adapter
  • Put the microsim back into the side of the NT510
  • The Porsche icon is now on the home screen
  • The unit updated
THANK YOU!!!!!

PS. This information isn't anywhere on the box, in the printed manual (that I can find) and I didn't have any luck googling it. I am so happy and thankful that you were able to help me.
cds72911 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 03:47 PM
  #12  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 3,027
Default

DBJoe996 is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 04:44 PM
  #13  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default

I was able to read the airbag codes and reset the airbag light. Mission accomplished. Thank you all again.
cds72911 is offline  
Old 03-13-2018, 04:04 AM
  #14  
a4gen2
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 19
Default

Have used VAG-COM to make MODs to A4 in the past and would like to make similar MODs to my 2004 C4S (996), if possible. Specifically looking to MOD:

1) Windows up/down with FOB
2) Fogs on with Hi Beams
3) Side markers blink with turn signals

Can this tool access necessary modules to make these changes? If not, options? Are the above MODs even possible on a 2004 -- I've seen conflicting posts?

Thanks, Steve
a4gen2 is offline  
Old 03-13-2018, 06:29 PM
  #15  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,032
Default

Sorry, haven't tried it.

I have a VAG-COM USB I've used on several Audis and VWs. I think the Durametric would be more similar - software you run on your computer that connects using a proprietary cable to the OBDII port.

The Foxwell is more like a fancy version of a handheld OBDII scanner, with access to model specific diagnostics. I don't think it has a way to do coding like VAG-COM.
cds72911 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tips and guidance needed - troubleshooting airbag with Foxwell NT510


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: