Clear airbag light - do I need durametric? - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 996 Forum
Reload this Page >

Clear airbag light - do I need durametric?

Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Clear airbag light - do I need durametric?

Old 12-19-2017, 12:13 PM
  #1  
turbogrill
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Austin
Posts: 67
Default Clear airbag light - do I need durametric?

Hi,

My airbag light came on after I removed and repaired the seats in my 996 C2 (1999).

Do I need to buy a Durametric for it? Anything else I might need Durametric for? (I do like geeky engineering stuff)

I track it occasionally but use Race Capture Pro for logging and stuff.

Anyone in austin area that has one?
turbogrill is offline  
Old 12-19-2017, 12:24 PM
  #2  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 831
Default

Yup.

Can be used for all sorts of geeky data logging, troubleshooting, and warning light resetting.
cds72911 is offline  
Old 12-19-2017, 01:31 PM
  #3  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 2,947
Default

Durametric will do it. A nearby dealer might do it for you as well. Or an indy if they have the correct software.
DBJoe996 is online now  
Old 12-19-2017, 02:01 PM
  #4  
nckwrnr
User
 
nckwrnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 89
Default

I bought this scanner foxwell nt510 worked great for clearing the airbag light on my 996 and its only $150.
nckwrnr is offline  
Old 12-19-2017, 02:08 PM
  #5  
Dr_Strangelove
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Dr_Strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 507
Default

If you already have a garage that you take your car to in Austin, they'll likely do it for free. At least, they should IMO. It's a nothing job.
Dr_Strangelove is offline  
Old 12-19-2017, 02:27 PM
  #6  
nckwrnr
User
 
nckwrnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 89
Default

Originally Posted by Dr_Strangelove View Post
If you already have a garage that you take your car to in Austin, they'll likely do it for free. At least, they should IMO. It's a nothing job.
I agree I took my car in for its free oil change from the dealer I bought it from and they wanted to charge me $100 to clear the airbag light when the car was already there couldn't believe it.
nckwrnr is offline  
Old 12-19-2017, 03:36 PM
  #7  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 831
Default

Originally Posted by nckwrnr View Post
I bought this scanner foxwell nt510 worked great for clearing the airbag light on my 996 and its only $150.
Was the Foxwell unit useful for troubleshooting the cause of the airbag light, or is it just for clearing the light?
cds72911 is offline  
Old 12-19-2017, 03:41 PM
  #8  
dan_189
Super User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,176
Default

Originally Posted by cds72911 View Post
Was the Foxwell unit useful for troubleshooting the cause of the airbag light, or is it just for clearing the light?
Its an obd scanner that can also clear the airbag fault.

I've also seen a snap-on scanner clear an airbag light too.
dan_189 is offline  
Old 12-19-2017, 04:04 PM
  #9  
nckwrnr
User
 
nckwrnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 89
Default

Originally Posted by cds72911 View Post
Was the Foxwell unit useful for troubleshooting the cause of the airbag light, or is it just for clearing the light?
Absolutely told me it was a fault on the drivers seat belt receptacle. The only system in the car it doesn't work on or access is the gauge cluster itself. I wanted to try and unlock the on board computer so it would show the temp but no dice.
nckwrnr is offline  
Old 12-20-2017, 01:24 AM
  #10  
996pp
User
 
996pp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 952
Default

Foxwell NT510 is a great scanner at half the price. Also bought one recently for an airbag light and it turned out to be the front passenger crash sensor. It also can read DME over rev report.
996pp is offline  
Old 12-20-2017, 02:09 AM
  #11  
TexSquirrel
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
TexSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Richmond, T E X A S !
Posts: 633
Default

I have a professional version Durometric cable.
But I'm in the Houston area.
I'll be in La Grange on Thursday.
Also I might be in the Austin area the week after Christmas.
TexSquirrel is online now  
Old 12-25-2017, 11:34 AM
  #12  
jbabington
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
jbabington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 4
Default Durametric | Regret not purchasing years ago

Recently purchased Duramteic. Wish I had 7 yrs. ago when I purchased my 99. It’s just so handy and easy to use. If you plan on keeping your 996 for awhile I highly suggest purchasing...even if you don’t plan to keep I would think that you would be able to sell it with the car.
jbabington is offline  
Old 02-14-2018, 08:39 PM
  #13  
hdavidson
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 64
Default

I removed my LWB seats to install a rollbar. Should the Cobb tunning device be able the clear airbag light? I tried it tonight but still getting the light. I’m not sure if there’s a real issue or if the Cobb Accessport doesn’t clear airbag errors.

Thanks.
hdavidson is offline  
Old 02-14-2018, 09:54 PM
  #14  
vitaminC
User
 
vitaminC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Default

If you have a '99 C2, the 'enthusiast' version will not clear the airbag code unless they have changed something recently. They won't tell you that until after you purchase it, if then.
vitaminC is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 12:03 AM
  #15  
az968gpw
User
 
az968gpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 504
Default

I thought I read on the forum about an inexpensive unit at Autozone? I'd like to get a unit to read out the error codes, etc.
az968gpw is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Clear airbag light - do I need durametric?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: