Sponsored by:

Looking to purchase first porsche 2005 996 C4s

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2017, 10:18 AM
Chazcamp
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Looking to purchase first porsche 2005 996 C4s

I've wanted a porsche for over a decade but life just now making that a possibility.

I have never owed one and I want a manual car with more "raw" feel, but I'm no expert driver given lack of experience. My research / desires all pointed toward 993 C4s but I'm afraid to go that all in and want to drive this thing most days (will be an extra vehicle though)

I am thus leaning towards 996 C4s and have found what looks like a good example near, 2005 (last few 996) C4s with 60k miles.

Any thoughts or advice before I jump in?

Planning PPI this week. Has original IMS, has wreck reported in first 6 months on life (11/2005) but no signs and man its feels good to a novice!
Old 11-12-2017, 11:32 AM
Triple Black
Rennlist Member

Received 72 Likes on 44 Posts

Post the sales listing (pics and more info on the car) and I'm sure you'll get lots of opinions.
Old 11-12-2017, 11:40 AM
Mike Murphy
Rennlist Member

Received 1,580 Likes on 987 Posts

Daily driving any 911 could result in large repairs and maintenance costs, so 993 vs 996 may not prove to show any large difference in running costs.

Also, I would be cautious about buying a car that’s been in an accident. Resale will be tougher, and the price will likely be lower.

Last edited by Mike Murphy; 11-12-2017 at 12:40 PM.
Old 11-12-2017, 11:41 AM
wildbilly32
Drifting

Received 774 Likes on 496 Posts

Chaz: I love my 2005 C4S. It has 56k miles, original IMS, manual trans with no reported accidents(for whatever thats worth!) Fun car and better looking than C2, in my opinion. I don't track it...old guy here, but every time I drive it, it makes me smile! Keep in mind these cars can be expensive to maintain without a major failure and they are 12+ years old. I am happy with my choice.
Old 11-12-2017, 12:01 PM
eaks