Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shifter "disconnected", can't get car in gear

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2014 | 08:57 AM
Cabarnak
Advanced

Default Shifter "disconnected", can't get car in gear

Coming back from a short drive yesterday, wife pulled the shifter left to put the car in reverse and something must have come loose...the shifter now feels completely disconnected and I cannot get the car in gear. The car was stuck in the driveway and pushed it in the garage. For what it's worth, she is a decent driver and this was her second outing with the car

I found this thread https://rennlist.com/forums/993-foru...r-in-gear.html and would like your opinion to see if this is likely the same problem? In any case, I guess I'll have to remove the transmission tunnel and see. To be honest, I'm a novice DIYer so I don't expect to be able to fix anything as I feel like the Golden Rod / SSK mod is beyond my ability :-/

TIA for your help!
Old 09-06-2014 | 12:32 PM
Cabarnak
Advanced

UPDATE:

I removed all covers under the car to get access...the ball that goes into a cup (first picture) is disconnected. The cup that it goes into (second picture) has some dried up material in it. Can I just change that part (the rod with the cup) or maybe just replace the insert that goes in the cup?

Thanks!

This is the ball located right under the shifter that is disconnected

The cup in which the ball normally sits seems to have some dried up material...can I just replace that cup or the insert in the cup?
Old 09-06-2014 | 01:52 PM
993 770
Pro

This is pretty common, happened to me on my previous TT. It's fixable and not a very expensive part, but what you should really do is... Get it towed, call FD and get a Golden Rod and SS shipped ASAP.

You'll thank us!
Old 09-06-2014 | 02:47 PM
Cabarnak
Advanced