993 Turbo Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removing the turbo clutch hydraulics?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2014 | 08:37 PM
mpruden
Three Wheelin'

Default Removing the turbo clutch hydraulics?

Please humor me with this long-winded "exploratory" thread.

Background: In 2004 PO of my 97 Targa had some kind of hip injury. A shop gutted the usual clutch circuit in the 993 and put in the turbo goodies to make the clutch easier to press. Car has the turbo power steering pump, reservoirs (front and rear), clutch master and slave, and all the plumbing. Car still has the NA brake fluid container with one of the outputs plugged up. Unfortunately I do not have the original parts from the car.

Current situation: The car drives a little strange (guessing it's the super-boosted hydraulics on a standard NA clutch?). I've been driving manuals for 20 years and this thing is tricky to get rolling. Everyone that drives it stalls it out the first few tries. Then again, I'm very new to 993s, so perhaps this is just part of the "character." Car is on it's 2nd clutch and this one has about 20k miles on it.

Still here? Good. Questions are coming up...
When it comes time to replace the turbo slave cylinder, I'm considering reverting back to the simpler NA system in two phases:

Phase 1: Revert back to the simpler master and slave. Looks like this is as simple as purchasing the master, slave, and a bit of plumbing. Even if the plumbing is expensive, this still must be cheaper than buying a new turbo slave. I plan to leave the rest of the hydraulic system as is. I have to think I can just cap off the high pressure hydraulic line running to the old turbo slave somewhere. Big assumption is that the rest of the system shouldn't care if there is no more turbo slave utilizing some of that pressurized pentosin. I'm curious if anyone can verify my assumption.