Evaluating Turbo Upgrade Kits

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2010, 04:53 PM
tanger
Rennlist Member

Received 30 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Evaluating Turbo Upgrade Kits

UPDATE:
Thanks for everyone's feedback - I ended up going with Protomotive's "kit": k16/16g, ecu, 5 bar FPR, and a bunch of other minor components (hose connections and the like). Took me a while to hit the 500 mile break-in recommended by Todd, but just wanted to post a data point for folks thinking about a turbo upgrade. This upgrade was exactly what I was looking for- complete driveability with a more/sooner low end grunt and stronger pull. Boost comes on 3k-ish and pulls hard almost all the way to redline. I didn't get a chance to dyno before/after, but it feels much MUCH quicker - probably forgot how fast it was stock since I've been driving w/o boost for 3 months . Really hard to keep my foot off the gas and out of jail territory.

Anyways, was great dealing with Todd and highly recommend the k16/16gs if you are just looking for a relatively cost-effective performance upgrade. A no-brainer if you are considering rebuilding your worn stock turbos.

Have spent the better part of the morning reading through old threads on turbo upgrades, as well as talked briefly with Kevin @ UMW and Todd @ Protomotive. As background, my 93tt needs its turbos rebuilt or replaced. Not a track car, so looking for upgrade that won't ruin street driveability (prefer low-end grunt vs ultimate HP).

Based on reading, I think for me comes down to deciding between Protomotive's k16/16g /ecu/FBR "kit" or Kevin's Stage 1 kit. Both get rave reviews, but there is a big price differential so just curious what people think (maybe there's someone out there that has experienced both).

Also, can I get a majority of the power benefit without going with sport cats and EBC to these (which I would add down the road as budget allows)?

TIA

Last edited by tanger; 06-28-2010 at 10:25 PM. Reason: Update!
Old 03-25-2010, 05:31 PM
Barney1