Notices
993 Turbo Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

To tt or not to tt, that is the question.

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2006, 02:30 AM
lthatch
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To tt or not to tt, that is the question.

Hi all. Leonard here in Santa Fe. I have been driving 993 NAs as my daily driver for 8 of the last 10 years, and am seriously considering switching to a tt for a couple of reasons. Since moving to the high desert of New Mexico, I have experienced the loss of hp that 7000 feet imposes on a normally aspirated engine (20%, I am told), and I want more power. I have been led to believe that a forced air induction system loses only 2% hp, which would leave me with (more than) enough to work with. Also, I want to change colors; my Black/Black car is never clean and always hot.
So I've watched some great cars come and go over the past couple of years. Steve's RUF, the recent Black tts, these and others were some great cars and super values, but the timing, color, or whatever other detail just wasn't right for me. Like many, I do suffer budget constraints.
So, now i have found a pretty good candidate. It's a 96 w/40k, Silver/Red (I like this combo), seemingly well cared for, two owner, reported no body/paint work, kind of interesting options, traded into Pepe Porsche on Long Island. I know the service hx, and it's just gotten valve cover seals, a new clutch, and a major tune up. Price: I've got a deposit at $62k, pending an inspection scheduled at Rennwerke on Monday. Rob in NYC has been patient and gracious and has agreed to look at the car for me on Saturday.