Sponsored by:

How safe is a 993? and how about baby seats

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2003, 05:00 PM
Mackenzie
Instructor

Received 35 Likes on 11 Posts
Default How safe is a 993? and how about baby seats

I am a beginner, but love the 993s so i Just bought a '95 993 coupe. I have a few questions -
wondering how safe this car is i.e. crash test results etc.

also i have a 10 month old....what about baby seats...any recommendations?

finally any archive magazine reviews of the 993?

receiving my car next wk...looking forward to it.

thx
Old 11-18-2003, 05:05 PM
JasonF
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Couple of very good sources...First, check out www.p-car.com. The DIY section has a baby seat retrofit. Second, there is a lot of info on this subject in the archives. My children are older (6 and 4) and fit perfectly in the back using a Britax Starriser booster. In fact, the six-year old is tall enough so that she doesn't need the booster anymore. The kids love riding in the car.

I don't know of any crash test results, but my impression is that the car (for its size) is fairly safe.

As for reviews, go to cars.com where you can find archived reviews of the 993 dating back to the model's release.
Old 11-18-2003, 05:09 PM
TheOtherEric
Rennlist Member

Received 36 Likes on 24 Posts

There was a long long thread on this very topic about a month or so ago. Do a search, probably on "safe" and "crash test"
Old 11-18-2003, 05:10 PM
Mackenzie
Instructor

Received 35 Likes on 11 Posts

thx you Jason. i will look into it.

i wish the car had side airbags...i am assuming there is a crash cage around teh body of the car.
Old 11-18-2003, 05:16 PM
Speedraser
Three Wheelin'

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I posted a fairly lengthy response on this topic at this thread:

https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...highlight=hldi
Old 11-18-2003, 05:27 PM
johnt53
Advanced