993 Forum 1995-1998

Help choosing a DE tire?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2017, 12:24 AM
_snowbird_
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help choosing a DE tire?

I recently purchased a set of 996 Turbo hollow-spokes (18x8f, 11r) to dedicate for use as DE wheels on my C4S.

I plan on doing 1-3 DE's a summer, but I'm new at it. I expect to graduate from the Green run group during my first DE this summer, and run in 1-2 Yellow groups by the end of the season.

In my first Green DE in Aug, I ran my street set of Conti DW's (stock sizes 225/285) and frankly felt like I lacked traction on our challenging course (Mosport). Understeer was an issue all weekend at speed, and I had to "catch" the car multiple of times to avoid going off course. My instructor says I'm showing good car control and anticipation of trouble, but also thought my setup was not ideal. We played with tire pressures which helped a little. I generally respect the reco that new DE drivers should learn on challenging tires to get a feel for the car - but I also don't think you should have to avoid better tech simply for the nobility of it

I've been reading several threads about tire size and model selection. I really like the insights from Trophy, Bill V and nile13 in this thread.

From all I've read, I'm leaning towards 235f & 285r sizing in Bridgestone RE71R. I'm expecting the extra width up front to provide a more neutral balance (helping remove understeer), and the RE71's to provide good overall grip. The pricing seems good too - relative to any of the Michelin options.

Does this sound like a reasonable approach? Can you tell I'm looking forward to spring?

Old 01-15-2017, 10:25 AM
e9stibi
Drifting

Received 31 Likes on 22 Posts

As a novice, the RE 71 are to sticky. It is a good thing to learn on street tires because the car gets progressively loose at lower speeds which allows you a safer learning of the fundamentals. THere are plenty of good street tires.