Sponsored by:

993 stone guards

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2015, 10:37 PM
355dreamer
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 993 stone guards

I'm a 993 noob with a recently acquired beautiful NB coupe. (Thanks Ryan).

Anyway, I just had the car fully detailed by a professional over the last two days. The black paint now looks like a mirror, except for the absolutely horrible cracking on the stone guards on the rear fenders.

They need to go. I have 2 questions...

1. How hard of a job is this for a DIY on a scale of 1-10 (one being adding gas and 10 being a motor rebuild). Being that mine are really cracked, I suspect they might be harder to remove.
2. Who's the best source for a good product? (I tried a forum search with no luck)

Thanks
Luke
Old 04-01-2015, 10:41 PM
355dreamer
Track Day

Here's a picture FWIW. (The flash in the dark garage really makes them look much worse than they are in the sunlight.)
Attached Images  
Old 04-01-2015, 10:57 PM
linen grey ghost
Racer

search is your friend - numerous threads on this issue - lots of chemical and friction suggestions for removal - FD Motorsports is a source of quality replacements (no business connection, just a satisfied customer)
Old 04-01-2015, 11:04 PM
bcameron59
Rennlist Member

Received 53 Likes on 41 Posts

Some info here:
https://rennlist.com/forums/993-foru...ne-guards.html

Sounds like removing the old ones is the hard part, a heat gun is strongly recommended. Removal may be harder on cars that have lived in the south for a long time and some have had paint come off.

Looks like FD sells them, probably the dealers and pelican will too. They are also available at places that sell / install 3M or similar paint protection film (usually they have to order a kit). I have never had the knack with film installs so for what it would cost I'd get the seller to install them.
Old 04-01-2015, 11:05 PM
Knight
Drifting

Received 74 Likes on 42 Posts