Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

how to make a 993 handle better?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 12:10 AM
Jibble
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to make a 993 handle better?

Hi all, so I did do a search and didn't come up with much. I'm not new to fiddling around with cars to make them handle a bit better, but I am new to my recently acquired '97 993 Targa. Thus far, it has not been a love affair as I already had an expensive repair with the targa, and directly after purchasing the car I put in new suspension and tires as they were shot.
The suspension I went with was the ROW M030s and Koni FSDs, and I changed the front control arm bushings to Elephant Racing regulars---I would have loved to have gone a bit more aggressive but was afraid it would be too low/stiff to be practical in the crappy road area I have.

I am considering a strut tower brace for the front, but holding off on more spending for the (short) time being.

Now I know the 993 is a 15year old car at this time, but I think I must be missing something here in terms of the handling. I can't quite pinpoint the problem, but part of it is this: I feel like every time I am on the highway, and there is a crest/bump etc, after I go over that crest/bump, the steering wheel ?moves a bit side to side, and the car loses its intended direction momentarily.
I'm not driving aggressively in these moments---just driving normally. But frankly I feel like my daily VW wagon inspires more confidence on similar roads, but maybe this is just because I am more adjusted to that car...?

Any thoughts? Or is simply part of the "charm" of owning this car?
Thanks all.
Old 06-04-2013, 12:38 AM
race911
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts