Help With Porter Cable 7424xp

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2013, 12:10 AM
jstyer
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Help With Porter Cable 7424xp

Hey guys,

I'm new to the detailing world and just picked up a Porter Cable orbit buffer to start my paint correction journey.

I just pulled it out of the box and plugged it in just to make sure everything was good to go. One thing I noticed is that it sounds like a lot of chatter in the mechanism... Almost like an angle grinder. I watched a few YouTube videos of the buffer, and I don't seem to hear this noise. That said, microphones can be deceiving. Is this normal?

I know I'm probably being overly anxious... But I always want to be 100% before I start pressing a fast rotating object onto my paint.
Old 03-23-2013, 07:59 AM
Roche993
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have the same one and it sounds more like a random orbit sander and not an angle grinder-if that makes sense. I know the sound you are describing and mine is not that. Maybe you can return it and get another one? I am happy with mine,by the way.
Old 03-23-2013, 01:37 PM
Mike J
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 68 Likes on 57 Posts

Put it under load to see if the noise changes - I have had one of these for 20 years now, and its works great, but mine is the previous generation - all metal construction.
Old 03-23-2013, 02:12 PM
IXLR8
Rennlist Member

Received 678 Likes on 474 Posts

Originally Posted by jstyer
But I always want to be 100% before I start pressing a fast rotating object onto my paint.
That model isn't a true dual action like the Flex but it isn't a rotary either.

As soon as you apply a bit of pressure to the pad, that spinning will stop if it like the other polishers I have had.

As for the noise, it can sound like you have loose fasteners floating around inside the motor.
Old 03-23-2013, 03:34 PM
Mike J
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist