Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

OT: Next car possibly muscle car...maybe..

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2011, 11:36 PM
Spidey 993

Default OT: Next car possibly muscle car...maybe..

I got issues, it's like I have to buy and I have no choice in it. In the last year I have owned 3 993s. (C2/TT/Cab).

Next one has to be aggressive looking, and track capable. I love Porsches (proud of it) but also considering a couple exceptions from the bucket list just for the experience of owning and reliving my youth.

Top of list:
- 997.1 GT3RS in Green or Orange
- 993 RS
- Corvette C6 Grand Sport or Z06

Considering bucket list:
- 69 Camaro RS/SS/Z28
- 67 Shelby GT350
- 63 Corvette Coupe (split window)

So my question comes into play around the bucket list cars. Seems the muscle car market has softened a bit? (I watch every Mecum auto auction so I am an expert ). Any of you dabble in these cars and have some insight into market conditions, exceptions to rule, thoughts?

Thanks!

Last edited by Spidey 993; 12-05-2011 at 11:56 PM.

Old 12-05-2011, 11:51 PM
race911
Rennlist Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

My good friend with the "more real RS parts on it that most RSs" '72T I did for him 20 years ago loves his Z28. I always forget if he sold the (early) '70 for a better '69, or vice-versa.

I'm personally partial to the Shelbys as I had a couple of Porsche customers back in the '80s who had Shelbys (and Cobras) back when they were "just" Mustangs. Price-wise, anyway. I dabbled with one on the track after I built and engine for the car, but it had crap tires/suspension. None of those would get me away from a 911 of similar vintage though.

Place to park your money for awhile? Those with more current, relevant experience will post.
Old 12-05-2011, 11:53 PM
race911
Rennlist Member

And now I see that 993RS up there. Gonna bring one in yourself? Having what I have, I'm not sure I'd bother with a real one. Absent bragging rights, of course.
Old 12-06-2011, 12:00 AM
Spidey 993