Sponsored by:

Do I really need pss10s???? YES

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2011, 08:59 PM
Mercedesben
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I really need pss10s???? YES

I have been an instructor at Summit point my local track for over a decade and run in the instructor group. (I know everyone is an instructor) I had a 95 993 years ago with the pss9 system and was not overly impressed. Upon install I found a brand new blown shock and sent it back to Gert (that puts a time and date stamp on this) I ran fast with the car but I thought I could have had similiar performance with some bilstein hds and good springs. I am about to upgrade my suspension and want some input from the forum before I make a decision. My 993 is mostly street and not a daily driver. I typically will run on r comps during the summer months and do autocross. How much faster is the pss10 sys than std bilstein hds and row o3o springs?? Do I need the 030 sways with either setup.
Car is std chassis.

Last edited by Mercedesben; 12-28-2011 at 04:48 PM.
Old 12-01-2011, 09:17 PM
bobt993
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Big can of worms. My car went from stock to track in a little more than a year. I used a TRG Cup non- adjustable setup for a bit before going to Motons. Eventually the car went widebody to compete in GTS3 Nasa. It has done pretty well with a best summit lap of 1:20.3 with a stock engine. Suspension had a bit to do with that, but you need to also get rid of the bump steer and roll center issue to lower and spring the car properly. Your budget is going to decide how far you go. Spring rates can vary from 600/800 up to 1200/1400 with tenders (which is what I am running). You will need at least RS adjustable sway bars to go with any performance shock setup. I would consider a well tuned non adjustable or a set of used Motons before the PSS10s.
Old 12-01-2011, 09:25 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 65 Likes on 49 Posts