Advice on US import 993 C2S

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2011, 08:21 PM
appear
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Advice on US import 993 C2S

Hello folks

I have been hunting a C2S Tip (Black/Black) for about 5-6 months now. I have kept an eye all major used car markets (EU) on a daily basis, but so far without any luck of finding the right car for me, I have come close a few times though. It's been the longest desert walk of my life, especially with the money just sitting in the bank AND a Boxster in the garage that I really need to sell during this summer season.

Recently this car turned up on Mobile.de:
http://suchen.mobile.de/fahrzeuge/sh...n&id=146551834

At first I wrote it off because because it is a US import with rather high mileage (96.000 Miles) but being the ONLY black C2S tip on the market I decided to take a closer look.

After having exchanged a few mails with the seller I am now starting catch an interest for this car.

First of all the price is just right for the european market. I know 50.000 USD (35k EUR) is very pricy for you guys, but it's as good as it gets in europe unless you steal it or buy outside EU. I expect a non-US import 993 C2S with similar milage would cost 10-14.000 USD more. Thats cash I can spend on modifying and upgrading the car to my taste!

Based on the pictures and what the seller has told me the car is in good condition.

The rims are awful, but those could easily be replaced. I have my heart set on original hollow spoke turbo twists.

I have read a lot about the differences between US and ROW cars on this forum, but I haven't found any mention of whether the tip-gearbox is different between US and EU cars?

Also I am concerned about SAI trouble. Is it correct this problem only applies to US models?