993 Forum 1995-1998

Distributor cap and rotor replacement--TIPS

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2011, 09:15 AM
DanL993
button queen

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Distributor cap and rotor replacement--TIPS

I got it done this weekend--for the first time ever--total newbee.

After carefully following the P-Car and Pcarworkshop instructions (which were great) I have a few "tips" from a first timer that may be of some help:
1. First challange is getting the damn screws holding the distributor caps loose. For three screws (the fourth is addressed below) I used a P2 phillips bit inserted into a 1/4" socket with extension and used the leverage of the 3/8" drive to get the job done. I found this combination far superior in torque to a screwdriver handle.
2. This next step is critical IMHO. As is described in the supplemental comment on the sites, turn the screw clockwise first until you hear it crack loose relieving the torque. Then the screw should far more easily back off counterclockwise. Be sure to apply pressure to hold the bit on the screw (also easier done with the drive than a screwdriver) so you don't slip out and strip it.
3. That technique will work for three of the screws--both on the top distributor and the higher one on the bottom. The final screw (the lower on the bottom distributor) is a bitch because it's so tight in there. I finally got it to work with a phillips screwdriver and a vise grip attached to the screwdriver handle for the leverage. Again applying proper pressure while torqueing is essential--very awkward situation. Took me 3-4 hours to get his one out but most of that was failed attempts using various combinations of bits and elbow joints etc. until I innovated the screwdriver/vise grip contraption.