Sponsored by:

993 MAINTENANCE/ISSUES?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2011, 11:54 PM
LUCKYJACKASS
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question 993 MAINTENANCE/ISSUES?

Hello. Obviously I'm not a newbie, just to the 993 forum. I already own a 951 and 928, but have had my sites set on either a 930 or 933 to complete my obsession. I have done some research on the 930, but having never driven a performance rear engined car, I am leaning towards a N/A 911 variant for my entry into the model line. I don't want a 996, and really like the 80's 911s, but have developed quite an affection for the 993.

I have poked around here a bit, and am wondering what are some of the weaknesses, if you will, for the 993? Depending on how the next 8 months go, I hope to purchase within the next year...budget being around 30k more than likely. I don't really care if this means the car will have mileage on it, as I buy them to drive (like I stole them ). I am just looking for a starting point on what major maintenance(engine removal, suspension, etc.) is needed when, and what are the crucial things to look for in a 100k mile example. I hope to purchase from a fellow lister, as I would trust the car to be maintained and loved a bit more.

I am not rich by any means, but do pretty well and want to make sure that I don't get in over my head on something like this by knowing what to expect. I do wrench on my current rides, and am beginning extensive work on the 928 soon. Again, I'm not in the market right now, but just doing my research. Thanks in advance for any and all informative replies.

P.S. I plan on keeping my current P-cars as well.
Old 04-13-2011, 01:29 AM
race911
Rennlist Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Having two of the wunderkars of the Porsche line from the '80s, you'll appreciate that a last-of-the-air-cooled 911s require about 1% of the effort to keep maintained and going. That's not to say they're perfect, or bulletproof. (Search will be your friend here.)