Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Car maintained by Callas Rennsport - PPI needed?

Old 01-10-2011, 08:41 PM
Aircooled Dave
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Car maintained by Callas Rennsport - PPI needed?

Looking at a car that has been maintained by Callas Rennsport. I'm in NorCal so I have no direct experience with them, but they appear to have a great reputation down there. Many people send their cars to them for PPI, but if a car has been maintained by them does it still make sense to do a PPI there or is there a recommendation for another shop? Does a PPI even make sense if the car has been maintained there?
Old 01-10-2011, 08:58 PM
dcdude
Drifting

As of 3 years ago, Tony usually does a $150 "new customer" inspection, where he notes all outstanding issues with the car. It's thorough, down to the rubber drain tubes under the body and plugs on the mirrors, in my case.

Get a scan or fax of that as well as all of Tony's invoices used to remedy the listed issues. Then I would consider it "maintained" by Callas.

Even still, a fresh PPI from another set of eyes is still the cheapest thing you'll do for your car.
Old 01-10-2011, 08:58 PM
Linnm
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default car maintained by Callas

IMO, it always makes sense to have a PPI done. The amount of money is relatively insignificant
Old 01-10-2011, 09:07 PM
Aircooled Dave
Instructor

Originally Posted by dcdude
As of 3 years ago, Tony usually does a $150 "new customer" inspection, where he notes all outstanding issues with the car. It's thorough, down to the rubber drain tubes under the body and plugs on the mirrors, in my case.

Get a scan or fax of that as well as all of Tony's invoices used to remedy the listed issues. Then I would consider it "maintained" by Callas.

Even still, a fresh PPI from another set of eyes is still the cheapest thing you'll do for your car.