Prospective 993 Purchase

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2010, 07:32 PM
dryadsdad
Team Owner

Received 1,498 Likes on 971 Posts
Default Prospective 993 Purchase

Hi all;

Obviously I'm new here and I'm also new to the world of Porsche. We recently had some financial good luck and have decided that part of what we want is a nice sports sort of car. Actually the prime mover in this is my wife but I'll speak as if it were me.

We considered an older British car, but were put off by the shoddy engineering, oil leaks and other miseries which come with the joys of such ownership. Since we wish to use this car for things like vacations and Sunday outings in the country, we need something which has good reliability. This won't be a daily driver. Based on the little I know, we narrowed our list to the BMW sporty series, Porsche boxter or 911 series and a Miata.

Today we saw a 993 for sale locally. It's a cab which gives it extra points in our book. My wife took it for a half hour drive and really was taken by all aspects of the car. I never considered her a 'car guy' but this vehicle really spoke to her in a way no other car or truck has, she said.

It has less than 40k miles in a 1995 year model. The condition is honestly showroom flawless. The owner has a history. It's been a Sunday driver garage queen since new and it shows. Like the original top has a perfect backlight. There isn't a stone chip on the car. It has a squeaky clean CarFax.

The 30k service was done by the most respected indie wrench in the area. All original papers come with it and a service record for at least the last 10k miles - maybe more. IMO, the only demerit is the color - white. I would have preferred a darker color. The interior is flawless in every aspect. I don't understand how the car could have made almost 40k w/o a stone chip. The owner says it is not a repaint. If it is, it must have cost $8k to do because it looks factory.