Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Carpet removal - steamer question !

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2009, 02:04 PM
Flav9xx
Track Day

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Carpet removal - steamer question !

Hi,

I am about to change my interior color from blue to black on my '96 Targa.
By the way, I am putting hardback sport seats and full leather interior. I hope it is going to be great !

I have searched the forum concerning carpet removal. It seems to be a PITA to do it. I just want to remove the carpet, not the sound material. I have already bought the new carpets so I cannot go back now

In one message I noticed that someone used a steamer to do it. But nobody else posted about this technique.
Can anyone tell me if he gave it a try please ?

I do not want to buy a steamer if it does not work fine...

Thanks

Flav

Last edited by Flav9xx; 05-25-2009 at 02:06 PM. Reason: p
Old 05-25-2009, 04:24 PM
Kcreager1
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have no experience and cannot help you at all - BUT....I wish you luck and hope that you post often on this topic. I have read many of the threads on carpet removal and think that the steamer threads look to be the best route. I am interested in how well this goes - I would love to do the same.
Old 05-25-2009, 04:32 PM
Arena993
Race Car

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

I just removed and replaced my carpet. Forget the steamer use 3M Adhesive Remover. Cuts the glue as fast as you put it on. Also will remove the carpet from the sound deadening material without ripping. Good luck this is a job, but the results are worth it.

Mike
Old 05-25-2009, 04:44 PM
Flav9xx
Track Day

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Arena993 : how do you use the 3M adhesive remover ? do you put some directly on the glue junction, between carpet and sound deadening material ? did you use a brush ?
How much time to take all the carpet off ?
Old 05-25-2009, 06:07 PM
Arena993
Race Car

Originally Posted by Flav9xx