Notices

DIY OBD-1 Varioram Conversion Step by Step (More or less)

 
Old 10-05-2009, 04:01 AM
  #46  
alpinadvl
Super User
 
alpinadvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,650
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

These are the type of threads I wished I never opened....

(who has a varioram they want to offload?...pm me)
alpinadvl is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:23 AM
  #47  
Shahrams
User
 
Shahrams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SC + MUC
Posts: 212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

subd
Shahrams is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 10:56 PM
  #48  
e3photo
User
 
e3photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Franklin, Tenn.
Posts: 1,549
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the write up. it is very helpful. I have ECU-- Early 95s (no drive block) ľ Porsche # 993.618.123.02 You state this will not work and needs to be updated. Do I need to keep it late 95, since I do not have drive block, or will an 97-98 work. I think I have read that 96 ECU's can not be chipped. Do I also need to change the ECU harness, and any thought on the cheapest way to do this?

Cheers,
Emerald
e3photo is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 12:35 AM
  #49  
JM993
Banned
Thread Starter
 
JM993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,361
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by e3photo View Post
Thanks for the write up. it is very helpful. I have ECU-- Early 95s (no drive block) ľ Porsche # 993.618.123.02 You state this will not work and needs to be updated. Do I need to keep it late 95, since I do not have drive block, or will an 97-98 work. I think I have read that 96 ECU's can not be chipped. Do I also need to change the ECU harness, and any thought on the cheapest way to do this?

Cheers,
Emerald
Hi Emerald,

Beginning with the later 95 cars and up through 98 buyers could specify drive block.

If I were you, I'd stick with OBD-1. Besides the fact that OBD-II is a PITA, it will be much more work to convert your OBD-1 car. I'd source a later 95 ECU w/o Drive Block which is Porsche # 993.618.123.03 / Bosch # 0.261.203.674. You can chip this ECU as I describe above to operate the VRAM. As an alternative, you can troll Euro ebay (probably German, British or Italian) to source a 993.618.123.11. This is the Euro OBD-1 ECU w/o drive block. It will be plug and play for the VRAM - no chipping required.

If you have the recall wiring harness, you will have all the VRAM connectors in place.

Hope this helps. Please let me know if you have any more questions

Cheers,
Joe
JM993 is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 06:59 PM
  #50  
e3photo
User
 
e3photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Franklin, Tenn.
Posts: 1,549
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Joe,

I have an 993.618.123.02 ECU. I know you suggested finding a 993.618.123.03 for my 95, but I have found a 993.618.124.03, which I believe has drive block.
Can I use this and have drive block removed, or is it too much of a PITA?

Thanks for the help.

Cheers,
Emerald
e3photo is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 11:59 PM
  #51  
JM993
Banned
Thread Starter
 
JM993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,361
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by e3photo View Post
Hi Joe,

I have an 993.618.123.02 ECU. I know you suggested finding a 993.618.123.03 for my 95, but I have found a 993.618.124.03, which I believe has drive block.
Can I use this and have drive block removed, or is it too much of a PITA?

Thanks for the help.

Cheers,
Emerald
Hey Emerald,

I don't have experience with adapting a drive block ecu to a non-drive block car. However, I'd speculate that it's not worth the effort - especially since you don't already own it. I imagine you'd need to adapt drive block to your car (surely a PITA), or somehow modify the ecu to remove the drive block specification. Either way, I wouldn't bother messing around.

Cheers,
Joe
JM993 is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 12:50 AM
  #52  
e3photo
User
 
e3photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Franklin, Tenn.
Posts: 1,549
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Joe,

That is what I needed to hear. I found a good deal on one, but it sounds like I just need to keep looking.

Cheers,
Emerald
e3photo is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 12:55 AM
  #53  
JM993
Banned
Thread Starter
 
JM993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,361
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I think that's best. The $ you save may not equal the trouble to make it work.

Good luck with the conversion.

Cheers,
Joe
JM993 is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:41 AM
  #54  
Bill Verburg
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Bill Verburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 10,949
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

You can use a drive bloc ecu in a non drive bloc car as long as the chip is replaced w/ a non drive bloc chip. You will need to replace the chip anyway when going from non v-ram to vram.
Bill Verburg is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 10:26 AM
  #55  
e3photo
User
 
e3photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Franklin, Tenn.
Posts: 1,549
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hey Bill,

so if I have a non-block 95, I can take one with drive-block and just replace the chip? This almost sounds too good to be true, but I thought I had read in past posts of guys getting rid if drive block due to frustrations.

I was going to have Steve chip my ECU when I was finished building the engine, so I assume this could be taken care of then.

Thanks for the great info.

Cheers,
Emerald
e3photo is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 10:53 AM
  #56  
bobesser
User
 
bobesser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 583
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a V-Ram setup available. Pulled to do a supercharger.
bobesser is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:00 AM
  #57  
e3photo
User
 
e3photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Franklin, Tenn.
Posts: 1,549
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Bob,

PM sent

Cheers,
Emerald
e3photo is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:19 PM
  #58  
Rutger Gert-Jan
User
 
Rutger Gert-Jan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi JM 993

I just saw your article about fitting a Varioram inlet manifold to a non-Varioram 993. You article inspired me to start looking for a Varioram inlet manifold (If there is one for sale among Rennlist members, let me know). I do have one question regarding this retro-fit:

Is it possible to fit a Varioram inlet manifold to a 1994 993? I am asking since the pipes/lines for the airconditioning are diffrent on the early cars, or can I just fit the pipes/lines under the Varioram inlet manifold?

I do now I have to change the ECU and the heater ducting, but thats only minor (I think, haha)

My engine does have the upgraded wire loom so no problems there.

I would like to thank you in advance for answering my question,

Regards,

Rutger
Rutger Gert-Jan is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:37 PM
  #59  
JM993
Banned
Thread Starter
 
JM993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,361
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Rutger Gert-Jan View Post
Hi JM 993

I just saw your article about fitting a Varioram inlet manifold to a non-Varioram 993. You article inspired me to start looking for a Varioram inlet manifold (If there is one for sale among Rennlist members, let me know). I do have one question regarding this retro-fit:

Is it possible to fit a Varioram inlet manifold to a 1994 993? I am asking since the pipes/lines for the airconditioning are diffrent on the early cars, or can I just fit the pipes/lines under the Varioram inlet manifold?

I do now I have to change the ECU and the heater ducting, but thats only minor (I think, haha)

My engine does have the upgraded wire loom so no problems there.

I would like to thank you in advance for answering my question,

Regards,

Rutger
Hi Rutger,

Yes, you can update your 94 to Vram.

If you want to retain your A/C you have 2 choices. First, you can do what I did and purchase the later style A/C lines from the compressor. You will need to fabricate a simple bracket to secure the lines to the fan housing (not hard). Incidentally, for those with late 95 cars, the fan housing already has a boss for the A/C line bracket but the earlier 95 (and 94 cars) do not. Second, you can reroute your early style A/C lines across the engine bay and then along side the driver's side frame rail - essentially following the same path as the later style lines. This is possible because the early style lines are predominently rubber (i.e. flexible).

Hope this helps. Please feel free to ask questions along the way.

Cheers,
Joe
JM993 is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 07:35 PM
  #60  
Rutger Gert-Jan
User
 
Rutger Gert-Jan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, thank you Joe, now I only need to find a Varioram intake manifold.

If anyone has one for sale please let me know.
Rutger Gert-Jan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: DIY OBD-1 Varioram Conversion Step by Step (More or less)


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: