Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help!! First Oil leak and a lot.. (Pictures)

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 01:21 PM
the.pun
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help!! First Oil leak and a lot.. (Pictures)

Okay, the car has 62k the oil was changed in December at 58k. I drive her every day to work. I pulled her out of the garage for a wash today and I noticed an oil spill about the size of two, one dollar bills side by side. After the wash I drove her around the block to heat up the engine. After the engine temp. was up I checked the oil. Level seems normal 75% up the twisty part of the stick. At idle cold the oil pressure gauge was at 4, at idle hot it was at 3. When driving at 5. The oil is coming from the rear passenger side of the car just left of the rear passenger tire. It is dripping onto the exhaust and causing a mild hissing and popping noise. I'm not a mechanic so I wonder is she still safe to drive? Should I take her in to the shop? Or is this something I can check out and fix. Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks.

Chris
Black '97 993 C2

Last edited by the.pun; 04-20-2008 at 02:53 PM.
Old 04-20-2008, 01:34 PM
993inNC
Race Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Do you have any pictures of this? Oil, unless sizzling wouldn't cause hiss and pops, that may be another issue. Valve covers are notorious for leaking, could be that. Could be an oil filter loose and leaking (forward of the rear pass. tire) maybe your oil tank leaking (the only hiss sorce I can think of)?. Need more info
Old 04-20-2008, 02:08 PM
the.pun
Intermediate

let me take some pictures, I'll post them soon. Thanks.
Old 04-20-2008, 02:50 PM
the.pun
Intermediate

Here are the pics. it looks to me as if the oil may be coming from those bolts. However, I can't get up under the car enough to see anything above these shots. Any thoughts?
Attached Images    
Old 04-20-2008, 02:53 PM
Robin 993DX
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts