Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pit falls of getting a HIGH mileage 993?

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2006, 10:35 PM
red_wagen
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pit falls of getting a HIGH mileage 993?

I mean high like, 120k+ miles. I asked the local Pcar mechanic, a very knowledgeable guy, and he opined that at that high a mileage, even if maintained properly, a complete engine rebuild is on the horizon. He mentioned that the bearings (I assume he meant crankshaft bearings) can't last much longer and a bottom end rebuild will be due soon. I also mentioned that the car I was considering had a valve job done at around 50k miles. His take on it was with 140k on the clock it was 90k miles since the guides (I presume) were replaced so they're due as well. I would be looking at the neighborhood of $10k, worst case scenario. It was because of this that I shied away from the '97 S posted on here.

I'm no expert so I rely on this board and local "expert" opinions. I don't think he was trying to scam me but maybe he likes to err on the side of caution? I've read all your problems about the valve guides but have not heard about the crankshaft bearings going kaput. Any other big ticket items that need replacing I should know about? Up till I had talked to him I thought valve guides was the worst problem. What are your thoughts? TIA
Old 10-13-2006, 10:50 PM
TCallas
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post