Sponsored by:

Mojave Desert Baptizes New 993.

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2005, 04:39 PM
lthatch
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mojave Desert Baptizes New 993.

Hi all. Leonard here. I am new to Rennlist, but was a longtime (7 year) 993 owner (95 C2 cab Polar Silver/Flamenco Red unmodded) in rural Michigan. When I moved to New Mexico I decided to get something more "practical", so I sold my Porsche and bought a new STI, which I really enjoyed for a while, but I missed the Porsche driving feel. You know how it is.
Anyways, after looking around I ended up buying a lister's 98 C2S, Black/Black with a nice options list and great upgrades, a really well cared for and sorted 36k mile example. Since it had had some paintwork (no metalwork) due to being keyed on the passenger's side and having rock chips painted out from the bumper cover and hood, I felt that I got a great value on a car I could drive every day.
Picking up the car in CA was everything it should be. The car actually exceeded my expectaions in both cosmetic and mechanical terms. It drove really well, much better than my stock 95. I got to spend some time with the PO, who was as straightforward and gracious as he seemed on the phone, providing excellent documentation of the work done to the car. Another Porsche buddy joined us, and a fantastic time was had by all. Just a great experience.
Now the bad part. Driving back to New Mexico, we got hit by a huge windstorm in the Mojave Desert which blasted the car with sand and small rocks. You can imagine, my heart just sank when, at the next gas stop, I saw that the windshield glazing wouldn't wipe away and realized the extent of damage that the car had incurred.