Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

993 upgrades for track.. Recommendations?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2001, 01:01 PM
FELKER
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 993 upgrades for track.. Recommendations?

I have a 993tt Which I will be tracking. I am new to 993's having had 996 and 986's.

I will be at an intermediate level...

What are the upgrades, improvment and modifications which are recomended.

Safty first.. Harness bar? seats.....

It is Christmas, and 993 upgrades make good suggestions to the wife for presents! :-)
Old 12-24-2001, 01:26 PM
SundayDriver
Lifetime Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
John,

The biggest thing is driver - Do the DE's and improve your skills. You have a very capable car in stock trim (it already has the M030 suspension).

The two things I would consider first:

Suspension - If you are going to stay with the M030, I would change to ROW springs. Not a big change in handling, but really improves the looks of the car. If you want more agressive, then hold out for a full coil over.

Brakes - You have great brakes, but...
Depending on the tracks you run, you can see some pretty serious speed. That can be tough on the stock pads - they will stop fine, but the life may be short. I like the Pagid Sport pads - much quiter than the Orange.

You won't really need better seat belts unless you go to coil-overs and R tires. At that point it gets hard to keep yourself centered in the seat. Having done a harness bar, I would skip that and go to a bolt in rollbar.
Old 12-24-2001, 01:31 PM
Jean-Marc
Racer

Are you really sure that you want to do that? I mean, wouldn't you be better off just keeping the tt pristine and for the street and getting a fully dedicated track car? I have a street 996 and a 993 Supercup and I got the 993 because it was breaking my heart to see what the 996 was going through: pitted winscreen, paint chipped everywhere, etc etc etc.