993 Forum 1995-1998

96 C4S Snow Chains Required?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2004, 07:52 PM
markC4S
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 96 C4S Snow Chains Required?

Anyone knows if Snow Chains are required for C4S? I am a Southern Cal driver taking my C4S up to a snow resort for the first time, don't know how
my C4S will react in the snow. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

96 C4S/Polar Silver
Old 12-28-2004, 07:54 PM
Greg Fishman
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts

Read the manual it has instructions on this! I don't believe you can use chains on 18's.

I would recommend snow tires if you are going to be traveling in snow country anything less and you are putting yourself and car in grave danger, IMO.
Old 12-28-2004, 07:57 PM
adsc4s
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Probably not a good idea as Greg has mentioned. If you must, carry a set of cable chains. They are low profile and won't harm the face.
Old 12-28-2004, 09:23 PM
Midnight C4S
Pro

Hitch hike if you have to but putting chains on your C4S? that's gutsy
Old 12-28-2004, 10:36 PM
Don C
Racer

My son just got to Bishop, driving from southern Calif. He said there was snow all the way up Owens Valley. Many were putting chains on. My son took my all wheel drive Subaru Outback so they had no problems. He also mentioned a C4S that was crusing with them and had no problems. Sweet!
Old 12-28-2004, 11:58 PM
PorscheDavid
Racer

4 snow tires and you can go anywhere, anytime...ask me how I know
Old 12-29-2004, 06:10 AM
dianic
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Lightbulb