Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pulled the Trigger. 400 Mile Drive! What to expect? How to Prepare?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2004, 11:24 PM
slapshot
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default Pulled the Trigger. 400 Mile Drive! What to expect? How to Prepare?

Ok guys, I pulled the trigger. To the many of you who have helped me immeasurably from the get go through my questioning PMs, e-mails and calls, thank you! Your help was a blessing. The big day is almost here. On Tuesday I fly up North and drive my new Black on Black 993 coupe home to LA from Sacramento. It is a long drive. I pick it up at noon and will probably start home around 4:00 to beat the heat. Maybe earlier if I take 101 vs. "the 5". I wish I could be leisurely but work (production shoot) wont wait and requires I hoof it back that day.

It is a long drive for me as a complete novice PO and I was wondering if there is anything I should look out for. Anything possibly to prep the car before the journey? I just had the oil changed and a new air filter put in. I have heard some suggest adding a bottle of Techron, etc. since such a long drive will burn up a lot of residue. For me I just want to get home with no problems. Safe and sound with my new joy.

Considering it will only be the second time driving a P car, the intimidation factor is huge. Not to drive the car, but to be sure everything is ok over such a long stretch and I am not stuck in Buttonwillow with an overheated P car.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks! Exciting times!
Old 07-25-2004, 11:39 PM
Suwipin
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi there,

Congratulations on your new car

I think you should be fine on your drive home... just one minor suggestion: check your tire pressure before you leave.

Have fun and drive safely
Old 07-25-2004, 11:46 PM
adsc4s
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 1 Like on 1 Post