Shifting Technique

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2004, 04:29 PM
Arrwin
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Shifting Technique

Hey guys,

Being that I just bought a Porsche and seeing that I'm fairly new to 3 pedal cars, I was wondering at what rpms do you guys shift for each gear? I try my best to rev match and stuff, but probably successful only 25% of the time.

My questions are basically:

1. At what rpm would you shift from a stop, 2nd to 3rd, etc.
2. At what point are you actually "burning the clutch"?
3. What are good shifting techniques? Not for the track, but for regular street/highway driving.

I'm just trying to avoid a premature clutch bill after spending all my $$ on the car. If there are any links out there that would do the trick, I would appreciate that as well.

As usual...thanks for the education.
Old 07-14-2004, 04:43 PM
ScottMellor
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hoo Boy. There are probably people with far more credibility than me to answer this one.

1. I pull away at the lowest possible RPM and engage the clutch quickly but smoothly. I never ever do drag race starts.
After that, once the engine has warmed up, anything up to redline is fine on the rest of the shifts.

2. Anytime the clutch is slipping is is wearing.

3. When shifting up, use little force (three fingers) and wait for the revs to match and "feel" it into the next gear. Don't slam it.
It's kind of like: rev, let-off-gas-dip-clutch, gear-shift into neutral , pause, gear-shift into next highest gear, release-clutch-apply-gas.

When shifting down I heel toe all the time, as I just have become accustomed to it.
Old 07-14-2004, 04:47 PM
CP
Race Director

Received 334 Likes on 239 Posts

Arrwin,

Check out these videos. They are excellent for up-shifts. The guys on the M5 borad love it.

Also check out this Rennlist thread. Otherwise, there are other threads on shift points.

https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...hreadid=107316